Jónsi Details Third Solo Album 'Obsidian'

The Sigur Rós singer's latest coincides with a solo New York art exhibition
Jónsi Details Third Solo Album 'Obsidian'
Following a push into futuristic pop territory with last year's Shiver, Jónsi has announced a follow-up solo album. The Sigur Rós singer will deliver new LP Obsidian tomorrow (October 30), coinciding with his art installation of the same name at New York City's Tanya Bonakdar Gallery.

The 10-song Obsidian, co-produced and mixed by Paul Corley (Yves Tumor, Oneohtrix Point Never, Ben Frost, Koreless) and Nathan Salon, is said to follow "a more ambient path" than Shiver, inspired by the recent eruption of Iceland's Fagradalsfjall volcano, which had previously been dormant for nearly 800 years.

Obsidian's songs were created in tandem with the art exhibited in New York City, which includes two new sound installations and a series of sculptural works. You can read more about Jónsi's exhibition here, which runs at Tanya Bonakdar Gallery from October 30 to December 17.

Jónsi's Shiver featured collaborations with RobynCocteau Twins vocalist Liz Fraser and PC Music mastermind A. G. Cook

In 2019, Jónsi released Lost & Found with partner and composer Alex Somers, and launched a new project called Dark Morph with Swedish composer Carl Michael von Hausswolff.


1. Vikur
2. Ambrox
3. Kvika
4. Pyralone
5. Obsidian
6. Cypriol
7. Eyja
8. Öskufall
9. Vetiverol
10. Hedione