J Mascis Announces New Album 'What Do We Do Now,' Shares Friend-Filled Video for Lead Single

The album arrives next year

BY Kaelen BellPublished Nov 14, 2023

J Mascis has announced his fifth solo album, What Do We Do Now, arriving February 2 on Sub Pop Records. Alongside the album announcement, Mascis has also shared the friend-stuffed video (Fred Armisen, Alicia Bognanno, David Cross, Clare O'Kane and Fucked Up's Damian appear, among others) for "Can't Believe We're Here." 

Recorded at Mascis's Bisquiteen studio in Western Massachusetts, What Do We Do Now is the Dinosaur Jr. frontman's first solo album to feature full drum and electric leads, though the rhythm guitars are still acoustic. What Do We Do Now features contributions from Ken Maiuri of the B-52s on keys and Ontario-based Matthew "Doc" Dunn on steel guitar.

"When I'm writing for the band," Mascis said in a statement. "I'm always trying to think of doing things Lou and Murph would fit into. For myself, I'm thinking more about what I can do with just an acoustic guitar, even for the leads. Of course, this time, I added full drums and electric leads, although the rhythm parts are still all acoustic. Usually, I try to do the solo stuff more simply so I can play it by myself, but I really wanted to add the drums. Once that started, everything else just fell into place. So it ended up sounding a lot more like a band record. I dunno why I did that exactly, but it's just what happened."

Mascis is currently on the road with Dinosaur Jr., who are touring for the 30th anniversary of their sixth studio album, Where You Been — solo dates are set to be announced soon. 

Check out the video for "Can't Believe We're Here" plus the What Do We Do Now tracklist below. 

What Do We Do Now:

1. Can't Believe We're Here
2. What Do We Do Now
3. Right Behind You
4. You Don't Understand Me
5. I Can't Find You
6. Old Friends
7. It's True
8. Set Me Down
9. Hangin Out
10. End Is Gettin Shaky

Latest Coverage