Here We Go Magic's Luke Temple Preps New Solo Album 'Good Mood Fool'

Here We Go Magic's Luke Temple Preps New Solo Album 'Good Mood Fool'
Luke Temple leads trippy Brooklyn indie outfit Here We Go Magic, but as if that band's steady output didn't already keep him busy enough, he's just announced his latest solo effort. Good Mood Fool is out on October 15 through Secretly Canadian.

The album features a limited sonic palette consisting of voice, drum machine, bass guitar and a Juno-1 synth. In a press release, Temple noted that that the synth's presets give the album an '80s sound (as you could imagine).

This solo album reportedly marks a departure from Here We Go Magic's more democratic process, with Temple embracing influences from funk and blues that his bandmates would have rejected.

"The difference here," Temple said in a statement, "is that [solo] I could just sit and follow through an idea I had to its fruition — I would wake up in the morning with a vision of something and work solidly for 12 hours until I got close to it, I could obsess over one thing until I had actualized the image I had. In the band I don't have the luxury of the time to do that, because there's five other people in the band and we all have to make compromises to work with each other. This project was a way to indulge myself completely."

Temple described the album as his "favourite thing I've made so far." The diverse influences reportedly include Curtis Mayfield, Gil Evans and the Bulgarian Women's Choir.

Below, stream the soulfully danceable pop tune "Katie."

The album is available to order on CD or orange vinyl right here.

This album follow Temple's 2011 solo album Don't Act Like You Don't Care. He will perform at Brooklyn's Knitting Factory tomorrow (July 25).

Good Mood Fool:

1. Hard Working Hand

2. Katie

3. Florida

4. Those Kids

5. Jessica Brown Findlay

6. Sue

7. Terrified Witness

8. Love Won't Receive

9. Hardest Working Self Made Mexican