Hear Iggy Pop Take on Danny Elfman's "Kick Me" for New Remix Album 'Bigger. Messier.'

Trent Reznor, Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, HEALTH, Boy Harsher, Xiu Xiu and more are also featured on the companion to Elfman's 2021 record 'Big Mess'

BY Kaelen BellPublished Jun 29, 2022

Danny Elfman has announced Bigger. Messier., a new remix album featuring reimagined versions of songs from last year's Big Mess that's arriving August 12 via ANTI- / Epitaph Records. The record boasts an impressive array of guests, including Iggy Pop, Trent Reznor, Xiu Xiu, Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, HEALTH, Boris and more. 

And today, Elfman has shared Iggy Pop's take on Big Mess track "Kick Me." Described as "a frenetic commentary on fame, fortune and celebrity," Iggy's rendition features instrumental contributions from his longtime collaborator Leron Thomas and comes attached to a video by Carrie Chen & Berit Gwendolyn Gilma. 

In a statement about the album — which will feature two exclusive bonus tracks on the digital edition — Elfman said: 

At the onset of the Bigger. Messier. I asked the same thing of every artist: "express me through your own eyes." Not only was I surprised at the artists that wanted to participate, but completely blown away by what everyone contributed. There's a tremendous amount of diversity represented throughout, and I couldn't be more excited to announce the record with Iggy's version of "Kick Me," which not only serves as a reinvention of the song vocally, but instrumentally as well. This record became such an enjoyment of experimentation and relinquishing control of my own work in a way that I've never done before.

Check out the visual for Iggy Pop's "Kick Me" and see the Bigger. Messier. tracklist below. Read our interview with Elfman about Big Mess here.

Bigger. Messier.:

1. We Belong (Squarepusher Remix) 
3. Happy (33EMYBW Remix) 
4. Sorry (Kid606 Remix) 
5. We Belong (Rafiq Bhatia Remix) 
6. Kick Me (Zach Hill Remix) 
7. Insects (Machine Girl Insecticidal Tendencies Remix) 
8. Serious Ground (Xiu Xiu Remix) 
9. Cruel Compensation (The Locust Remix) 
10. Everybody Loves You (Boris Remix) 
11. True (feat. Trent Reznor) 
12. In Time (feat. Blixa Bargeld) 
13. In Time (Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith Remix) 
14. Native Intelligence (feat. Trent Reznor) 
15. Kick Me (feat. Iggy Pop) 
16. Kick Me (feat. Fever333) 
17. In Time (HEALTH Remix) 
18. Native Intelligence (feat. Trent Reznor - Ghostemane Natural Selection Remix) 
19. Happy (Boy Harsher Remix) 
20. True (feat. Trent Reznor - Stu Brooks Remix) 
22. Serious Dub (Scientist Remix) (Digital Bonus Track) 
23. Happy (A. Fruit Remix) (Digital Bonus Track) 

Latest Coverage