Halifax's Like a Motorcycle Are 'Dead Broke' on Sophomore Album

Hear new song "Swept Out" now
Halifax's Like a Motorcycle Are 'Dead Broke' on Sophomore Album
After teasing their return with a string of singles earlier this year, Like a Motorcycle have roared into view with details of a new album. The Halifax outfit will share sophomore LP Dead Broke on October 30 via Known Accomplice.

Dead Broke arrives four years after Like a Motorcycle's 2016 album High Hopes and was recorded in Vancouver alongside veteran producer Howard Redekopp.

Over 13 tracks, the band are said to examine the "more egregious aspects of being a rock band, and humans at large," wrestling with topics including financial uncertainty, mental health/trauma, familial separation, and heartbreak.

"Swept Out" arrives alongside today's announcement, which you can hear below. Said to be a song about being in crisis and feeling "consumed with hopelessness," the chorus illustrates those feelings to great effect: "Swept out, trapped in the tidal water / Down wind, was drowning then caught fire / Should get help for myself but couldn't bother."

Of their latest, the band add, "It's about the naive thought that things couldn't possibly get worse, until they do, and no longer having the strength to fight the tide."

Dead Broke:

1. Punk Two
2. Work
3. Satan Does The Numbers
4. Idols
5. Swept Out
6. Hotel Hallway
7. Tanner 
8. Sick Children
9. Drew
10. Paranoid
11. Back Burner
12. Strange New Adventures
13. Wide Awake

Pre-order Dead Broke.