Gwar Return to Metal Blade for Lust in Space

Gwar Return to Metal Blade for <i>Lust in Space</i>
Like the beauty that is the swallows returning to Capistrano, splatter rock gurus Gwar have announced that after an eight-year, two-album absence they have reunited with original home Metal Blade Records, the label that signed them way back in 1990 for their acclaimed Scumdogs of the Universe and saw them through seven more bouts of metal, punk and putrescence.

We all wondered why the hell did Gwar and Metal Blade part ways after 2001's Violence Has Arrived, one of their best efforts in years? And it would seem that both parties felt the same way. The reunion of artist and bankroll comes on the heels of Gwar's 25th anniversary and release of their 12th studio effort Lust in Space, due out in August of this year.

Quoth vocalist Oderus Urungus in his typical bantering way: "We couldn't be more delighted to be back on Metal Blade. The alliance of metal's most prestigious label and metal's most incredible band shall form an UberKlaw of ten-fold devastation. When Gwar's new album, Lust in Space, drops in August, the world shall be forced to its knees in total submission to our confusing dominance! The release marks the 25th Anniversary of Gwar's thawing-out, and we proclaim a two-year celebration to herald this brain-melting event! Death to life! Up the Irish! Gwar is back on Metal Blade and bitter is their wrath!"

Label owner Brian Slagel was a touch less dramatic about his statement. "I am honoured and very excited to welcome Gwar back into the Metal Blade family," he said. "We have had a tremendous relationship with them for a long time and we look forward to working with them again on their new album, Lust in Space."

Here is the tracklisting for Lust in Space:

1. "Lust in Space"

2. "Let Us Slay"

3. "Damnation Under God"

4. "The UberKlaw"

5. "Lords and Masters"

6. "Metal Metal Land"

7. "The Price of Peace"

8. "Where is Zog?"

9. "Make a Child Cry"
10. "Release the Flies"

11. "Parting Shot"

12. "GWARnography" *

* bonus track available only when album is purchased as a download online