Guided By Voices Reveal New Album 'Warp and Woof'

Check out "Angelic Weirdness" from their second LP of 2019
Guided By Voices Reveal New Album 'Warp and Woof'
If you've lost track of how many albums Guided By Voices have released, so have we. But that doesn't mean Robert Pollard and co. have stopped churning them out. In fact, they just announced another one.

Titled Warp and Woof, the new album will arrive April 26. If you actually are keeping track, it marks the follow-up to the double-album Zeppelin Over China, which just came out in February (yes, as in last month).

Warp and Woof is made up on 24 songs but just 37 minutes, with a press release comparing it to GBV classics such as Alien Lanes and Vampire on Titus.

According to a press release, here's how the album process came about:

After completing Zeppelin, Pollard felt the itch to record a few EPs. Just as GBV had done back in 1994, he would use them to channel his everflowing ideas to an outlet. But when a magical boombox writing session produced six fully formed songs in under half an hour, Pollard realized he had an album on his hands. What to do?

With a band so formidable they've been dubbed the Golden Age of GBV, they quickly completed much of the recording on the road. The 2018 Space Gun Tour provided impromptu recording venues. Pollard recorded vocals in hotel rooms and small studios. Doug Gillard cut guitar tracks for "End It With Light" through his Mesa Boogie rig at soundcheck at the Ottobar in Baltimore. Bobby Bare Jr. recorded his spacey main rhythm guitars for album closer, "Time Remains in Central Position" at the same show, but in the backstage green room. Kevin March added drum tracks in a studio in his hometown Montclair, New Jersey. Gillard played guitar on "Bury the Mouse" in a van hurtling at 60-plus m.p.h., and Mark Shue laid bass on "Angelic Weirdness" as he balanced on the speeding van's bench seat… 

For a taste of Warp and Woof, GBV have shared the new track "Angelic Weirdness," which you can check out at the bottom of the page.

In addition to the new album, Guided By Voices also have a series of tour dates coming up, and you can see those below as well.

Warp and Woof:

1. Bury The Mouse
2. Angelic Weirdness
3. Foreign Deputies
4. Dead Liquor Store
5. Mumbling Amens
6. Cohesive Scoops
7. Photo Range Within
8. My Dog Surprise
9. Tiny Apes
10. Blue Jay House
11. Down The Island
12. Thimble Society
13. My Angel
14. More Reduction Linda
15. Cool Jewels And Aprons
16. Even Next
17. It Will Never Be Simple
18. The Stars Behind Us
19. Skull Arrow
20. Out Of The Blue Race
21. Coming Back From Now On
22. The Pipers, The Vipers, The Snakes!
23. Time Remains In Central Position
24. End It With Light

Tour dates:

05/17 Boston, MA - Paradise Rock Club

05/18 Jersey City, NJ - White Eagle Hall
05/30 Barcelona, ES - Primavera Sound

06/01 Best Kept Secret Festival

06/05 London, UK - Village Underground

06/06 London, UK - Village Underground 

06/08 Porto, Portugal - NOS Primavera Sound

06/28 Cincinnati, OH - Woodward Theatre

07/13 Toronto, ON - Lee's Palace