Grounders Announce Debut Album for Nevado, Share New Track

Grounders Announce Debut Album for Nevado, Share New Track
In 2012, atmospheric Toronto outfit Grounders landed a deal with Nevado Records following the release of their EP Wreck of a Smile, and now they've announced their first full-length for the label. The self-titled album will be out on May 12.

The nine-song LP came together in frontman Andrew Davis' bedroom in Toronto and in a garage, with returning collaborator Marcel Ramagnano (Born Ruffians, Absolutely Free) helping out with the recordings. After that, producer David Newfeld (Broken Social Scene, Holy Fuck) gave the songs what a press release describes as "bombastic, fried analog treatment."

The album is said to be "a collection of dense and intricate pop music under the gauzy veil of krautrock and psychedelia." It was reportedly inspired by a love of classic pop and in interest in meditation.

For a taste of this, hear the swirling, twinkling art-pop track "Secret Friend" below. Scroll past the tracklist and Grounders' upcoming U.S. tour schedule to listen.


1. Secret Friend
2. Pull It Over Me
3. Bloor Street and Pressure
4. Face Blind
5. Vyvanse
6. Drawing Space
7. Fool's Banquet
8. Pet Uno
9. No Ringer

Tour dates:

03/04 New York, NY - Cake Shop
03/05 Philadelphia, PA - Milkboy
03/06 Savannah, GA - Savannah Stopover Music Festival
03/17-21 Austin, TX - SXSW
03/25 Atlanta, GA - The Masquerade
03/26 Athens, GA - Slingshot Festival
03/28 Norfolk, VA - The Parlor