Goatsnake Return with First Album in 15 Years

Goatsnake Return with First Album in 15 Years
Merciless Los Angeles gloom metal quartet Goatsnake are ready to trample us again. The band have just shed info on a new album release, their first in 15 years. Their Black Age Blues lands June 2 through guitarist Greg Anderson's esteemed Southern Lord imprint.

The band's last official release was 2004's Trampled Under Hoof EP, but a press release points out that this is the first proper album to come from the doomsmiths since 2000's Flower of Disease. A boon, no doubt, Anderson's riffs are said to be "heavier than ever before."

In addition to the group proper — Anderson (Sunn O)))), vocalist Pete Stahl (Scream, Wool), bassist Scott Renner and drummer Greg Rogers — Black Age Blues features a handful of collaborators across its nine tracks.

Former Slint/Interpol member David Pajo slapped some acoustic guitar onto "Another River to Cross," a track that also utilizes previously released elements of Flower of Disease's closing track, "The River." The song also features Petra Haden's vocals and violin skills, and piano work from Mathias Schneeberger. In addition, the album is marked with backup vocals from Wendy Moten, Gale Mayes and Andrea Merrit.

The nocturnal cover art, prepped by Samantha Muljat, can be found up above. While sound samples from the set are said to be on the way, you can eyeball the tracklisting down below.

Black Age Blues:

1. Another River To Cross
2. Elevated Man
3. Coffee & Whiskey
4. Black Age Blues
5. House Of The Moon
6. Jimi's Gone
7. Graves
8. Grandpa Jones
9. A Killing Blues