Gilles Peterson Lines Up 'Masterpiece' for Ministry of Sound

Gilles Peterson Lines Up 'Masterpiece' for Ministry of Sound
Between stints as a label manager, club DJ and radio personality, Gilles Peterson knows a thing or two about dance music. The BBC personality has also had a hand in shaping some well-rounded compilations over the years, and he's at it again with the new Ministry of Sound Masterpiece compilation.

The fourth in the series -- following entries from Francois K, Jazzie B, and Fabio and Grooverider -- the latest Masterpiece flexes Peterson's all-encompassing knowledge of the club scene. A press release explains that the set, spread out over three discs titled "Dusk," "Dawn" and "Twilight," explores "all corners of the electronic music spectrum," with Peterson selecting tracks from such artists as Four Tet, Scuba, Kode9, Arthur Russell's Dinosaur L and Wagon Christ. All the while, the epic collection reveals "the full breadth of Peterson's eclectic style." You can check out the mammoth tracklisting below.

Ministry of Sound will issue Masterpiece September 19 in the UK, with a North American release set for August 2, according to Amazon.

Gilles Peterson's Masterpiece:

Disc One:

1. Finn Peters "Purple"

2. Mr Beatnick "Synthetes"

3. Scuba "So You Think You're Special" (Joe mix)

4. Mic Newman "The Fidelity"

5. Roman Rauch "Can't Get Enough" (SoulPhiction mix)

6. Bassfort "Moon Shadow"

7. Prommer & Barck "Sleeping Beauty"

8. Mr Raoul K "The African Government"

9. Bjorn Torske "Langt fra Afrika" (Todd Terje mix)

10. Mo Kolours "Biddies"

11. King Coya "Villa Donde"

12. SBTRKT feat. Sampha "Living Like We Do"

13. Koreless "MTI"

14. Kode9 & The Spaceape feat. Cha Cha "Love Is the Drug"

15. Jacques Greene "Another Girl"br>
16. Bugge Wesseltoft & Henrik Schwarz "Kammermusik"

Disc Two:

1. Wagon Christ "Mr Mukatsuku"

2. Peaking Lights "Hey Sparrow"

3. Locussolus "Throwdown" (Vocal)

4. Arthur's Landing "Love Dancing"

5. Tyrone Evans "Rise Up"

6. Ish "Faster Than a Speeding Bullet"

7. Gatto Fritto "Hex"
8. Discodeine "Falkenberg"
9. Owiny Sigoma Band "Wires" (Theo Parrish mix)

10. Dinosaur L "Go Bang!"

11. Virgo Four "It's a Crime" (Caribou mix)

12. Phuture "Acid Tracks"

13. Art Department feat. Seth Troxler "Living the Life"

14. Hot Natured feat. Ali Love "Forward Motion"

15. Julio Bashmore "Batty Knee Dance"

16. Four Tet "Pinnacles"

Disc Three:

1. Incognito "Summers Ended"

2. Cameo "The Sound Table"

3. Roy Ayers "Evolution"

4. Light Of The World "Time"

5. Freeez "Southern Freeez"

6. Tom Browne "Come for the Ride"

7. Soul II Soul "Fairplay"

8. Leena Conquest "Boundaries"

9. Charlie Winston "In Your Hands"

10. NYCC "I'll Keep a Light in My Window"

11. Gene Chandler "Does She Have a Friend (For Me?)"

12. The Meditation Singers "Trouble's Brewin"

13. Teena Marie "Portuguese Love"

14. RAMP "Daylight"

15. Young Disciples "As We Come (To Be)"

16. Terry Callier "Dancing Girl"

17. The Royal Jazz Trio "Various Kicks Grand Battement Walks"