Gaslamp Killer Channels Near-Death Experience for Sophomore Album

Gaslamp Killer Channels Near-Death Experience for Sophomore Album
Three years after being involved in a nasty scooter accident, Los Angeles beatmaker the Gaslamp Killer has unveiled plans to issue an album reflecting on the near-death experience. His Instrumentalepathy will be released September 16 through his newly formed Cuss Records imprint.

The record marks Gaslamp Killer's first full-length release since issuing debut disc Breakthrough via Flying Lotus's Brainfeeder imprint in 2012. The sophomore set was put together after the DJ (a.k.a. William Benjamin Bensussen) flipped his scooter on the way home from a friend's place in 2013. The accident caused much internal bleeding, leading to an operation that removed his spleen. According to reports at the time, doctors said Bensussen was "three hours away from dying."

The 12-song Instrumentalepathy was inspired by the experience, with a press release explaining that the first five minutes of the LP were recorded in bed shortly after the accident, with Gaslamp Killer having been "on tons of morphine." The artist also received some non-chemical help on the album, via guest appearances from Gonjasufi, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, the Heliocentrics, Kid Moxie and more.

Below, you'll find Instrumentalepathy's tracklisting info, as well as a stream of its "Residual Tingles" and an album trailer directed by friend and former label boss Flying Lotus.

You can pre-order the album here.


1. Pathetic Dreams (ft. Kid Moxie and Miguel Atwood-Ferguson)
2. Good Morning (ft. Gonjasufi)
3. Warm Wind (Frimpong) (ft. Amir Yaghmai)
4. Residual Tingles
5. The Butcher (ft. Mophono)
6. Friendship (Interlude)
7. Gammalaser Kill (ft. MRR and Malcolm Catto)
8. Life Guard Tower #22 (ft. Miguel Atwood-Ferguson)
9. Haleva (ft. Amir Yaghmai)
10. Listen for My Whistle
11. Shred You to Bits
12. In the Dark (Part Two) (ft. The Heliocentrics)