Former Shins Members Announce First Album as Sad Baby Wolf

Former Shins Members Announce First Album as Sad Baby Wolf
After Shins leader James Mercer parted ways with the rest of his outfit, some of his former bandmates went on to form a new group called Sad Baby Wolf. Now, that Albuquerque, NM-based five-piece — which features past Shins members Marty Crandall and Neal Langford — are preparing to release their debut album. Electric Sounds is out on April 9.

In a press release, the band noted that the album was recorded in an unheated studio in January, with bassist Sean McCullough handling mixing and production duties. "Many evenings were spent sitting around a propane heater, eating pizza and laughing and dreaming about what this band could do," Crandall explained in a statement. "We mixed and mixed and re-mixed until we had things just right. We spent months on that process alone, and now we are truly excited to be offering it to the world."

You can get a taste of the band's dreamy sound by streaming the waltzing title track below. The 8-song tracklist includes the previous singles "8th Level" and "Survival Guide." The latter tune is also at the bottom of the page.

The album is also available to pre-order digitally or on vinyl over at Bandcamp.

Electric Sounds:

1. Bridges
2. Electric Sounds
3. 8th Level
4. Waking Up
5. The Warnings
6. Roaming
7. Survival Guide
8. Sad Baby Wolf