The Field Announces 'Cupid's Head' LP

The Field Announces 'Cupid's Head' LP
Swedish electronic musician the Field (a.k.a. Axel Willner) is set to hit listeners with another collection of minimalist pop pieces this fall in the form of an LP titled Cupid's Head. The album arrives September 30 via Kompakt Records.

A press release notes that the record, Willner's fourth as the Field and first since 2011's Looping State of Mind, finds the artist skipping out on using computers to craft his loops. The results are said to be darker and slower than past work, but apparently it took Willner a while to get into the swing of things with the new set up.

"When I started to work on Cupid's Head it was quite awkward," he said in a statement. "I felt that I had nothing to put into a new album and I'm not the type to sit down and force something out in the studio. But then, after a few modest attempts, I got a first loop together and running which turned out (in a short time) to be 'No.No…'. It was a revelation of sorts as making it felt new to me, and different, and that's when it all came out."

Sound samples have yet to arrive, but you can check out the tracklisting down below.

Thanks to Fact for the tip.

Cupid's Head:

1. They Won't See Me
2. Black Sea
3. Cupid's Head
4. A Guided Tour
5. No. No…
6. 20 Seconds Of Affection