Enya Sails Away to 'Dark Sky Island' on New LP

BY Alex HudsonPublished Oct 8, 2015

Light some scented candles and draw yourself a nice warm bubblebath, because Celtic new age enchantress Enya has announced that she's releasing a new album next month. Dark Sky Island will be out on November 20 on Warner Bros. Records.

The album was made with Enya's usual collaborators: producer Nicky Ryan and lyricist Roma Ryan. They started work on Dark Sky Island way back in the spring of 2012, and a press release explains that they were "inspired by Roma's work on a series of poetry books themed around islands and specifically the island of Sark's decision to be designated as a dark sky island."

The album apparently showcases Enya's signature lush, layered and exquisitely soporific sound. The singer said in a statement, "This album has a theme of journeys. Journeys to the island; through the length of a lifetime; through history, through emotions; and journeys across great oceans. So although it's not a 'themed' album, as such, we nevertheless have an underlying connection between songs."

Scroll past the tracklist below to watch a stargazing lyric video for the single "Echoes in Rain." With its pillowy soundscape and upbeat, plinky synth orchestra, the song is a clear sonic successor to the 1988 smash "Orinoco Flow."

This is Enya's first new album since 2008's holiday LP And Winter Came…

Dark Sky Island:

1. The Humming
2. So I Could Find My Way
3. Even in the Shadows
4. The Forge of the Angels
5. Echoes in Rain
6. I Could Never Say Goodbye
7. Dark Sky Island
8. Sancta Maria
9. Astra et Luna
10. The Loxian Gates
11. Diamonds on the Water

Latest Coverage