Eels Reissue Blinking Lights As Vinyl Box Set, Add Live Album

Eels Reissue <i>Blinking Lights</i> As Vinyl Box Set, Add Live Album
If Eels’ Blinking Lights and Other Revelations wasn’t already big enough in its original double-disc form, the band’s Mark Oliver Everett (aka E) is giving the 2005 album a sizable expansion with a new limited edition four-LP box set.

Along with the original album being pressed on three 180-gram slabs of vinyl, the release comes with a bonus record entitled Manchester 2005, a 17-track live album recorded shortly after the original release of Blinking Lights. Each of the four LPs also has its own covers, rice paper dust sleeves and comes with a hardback book of lyrics of photos, all of which are put into a box that is "begrudgingly signed by the author himself, Eels leader E.”

However, there are only 2,500 of these things and they are all numbered, being pre-sold on the band’s website in ascending order. So if you care about such things as scoring a low number, you may want to buy one now before these start shipping out on October 28.

In addition to all this vinyl action, there’s a new digital offering up for grabs at Eels’ website, and unlike the box set, this one is completely free (but you do have to provide your email address). The download is of four of the live tracks from Manchester 2005, just to give you a taste of what’s in store on the box set.

As previously reported, Everett and his father, quantum mechanic Hugh Everett III, are also the subject of a new documentary titled Parallel Worlds, Parallel Lives, which debuted earlier this week on PBS and is now up and streaming here.

Now, here is the new and much longer tracklisting to Blinking Lights and Other Revelations:

A1 "Theme From Blinking Lights”
A2 "From Which I Came/A Magic World”
A3 "Son of a Bitch”
A4 "Blinking Lights (For Me)”
A5 "Trouble With Dreams”
A6 "Marie Floating Over the Backyard”
B1 "Suicide Life”
B2 "In the Yard, Behind the Church”
B3 "Railroad Man”
B4 "The Other Shoe”
B5 "The Last Time We Spoke”
C1 "Mother Mary”
C2 "Going Fetal”
C3 "Understanding Salesmen”
C4 "Theme for a Pretty Girl That Makes You Believe God Exists”
C5 "Checkout Blues”
C6 "Blinking Lights (For You)”
D1 "Dust of Ages”
D2 "Old Shit/New Shit”
D3 "Bride of Theme From Blinking Lights”
D4 "Hey Man (Now You're Really Living)”
D5 "I'm Going to Stop Pretending That I Didn't Break Your Heart”
E1 "To Lick Your Boots”
E2 "If You See Natalie”
E3 "Sweet Li'l Thing”
E4 "Dusk: A Peach in the Orchard”
E5 "Whatever Happened to Soy Bomb”
E6 "Ugly Love”
F1 "God's Silence”
F2 "Losing Streak”
F3 "Last Days of My Bitter Heart”
F4 "The Stars Shine in the Sky Tonight”
F5 "Things the Grandchildren Should Know”

Manchester 2005:

A1 "Fresh Feeling”
A2 "Packing Blankets”
A3 "Bride of Theme From Blinking Lights”
A4 "A Magic World”
A5 "Son of a Bitch”
A6 "Ant Farm”
A7 "Jeannie's Diary”
A8 "My Beloved Monster”
A9 "It's a Motherfucker”
A10 "Taking a Bath in Rust”
B1 "Trouble With Dreams”
B2 "I'm Going to Stop Pretending That I Didn't Break Your Heart”
B3 "Dead of Winter”
B4 "Flyswatter”
B5 "Novocaine for the Soul”
B6 "Losing Streak”
B7 "Climbing to the Moon”

Free EP:

1. "Fresh Feeling”
2. "Packing Blankets”
3. "Jeannie's Diary”
4. "Climbing to the Moon”

Eels "Trouble with Dreams”