Edward Sharpe & the Magenetic Zeros Drop Imaginary Frontman for 'PersonA' Album

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Jan 27, 2016

Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros hinted that new material might be on the way when they revealed a new song called "Hot Coals" last fall. Now, they've announced plans for the band's fourth full-length, PersonA — and it will be arriving without credit going to Edward Sharpe.

The fictional bandleader — a messianic alter ego crafted by actual frontman Alex Ebert — has been struck out of the group's name, as demonstrated on the new album artwork (pictured above). The 10-member ensemble recorded the latest material in New Orleans, eschewing studio trickery like click tracks and digital manipulation in favour of organic musicianship — inspired by the city's vibrant history of jazz.

Ebert explained the band's musical evolution and decision to strike Sharpe from the marquee in a press release, saying, "We had long been a social experiment first, musicians second. Over time, though, we were emerging, by virtue of hours spent, into a group of musicians who could really play together."

You can see the full list of song titles set to appear on PersonA below. The album will arrive on April 15 through Community Music/Fontana North, and marks the follow-up to the group's 2013 self-titled effort.

You can also hear another sample of what's to come by giving the most recent single "No Love Like Yours" a listen in the player below.


1. Hot Coals
2. Uncomfortable
3. Somewhere
4. No Love Like Yours
5. Wake Up the Sun
6. Free Stuff
7. Let It Down
8. Perfect Time
9. Lullaby
10. The Ballad of Yaya

Latest Coverage