Dumb Angel Readies 'Broken Glass'

Dumb Angel Readies 'Broken Glass'
Following 2012's Eight Moments of Spring, Dumb Angel (a.k.a. Saskatoon folk rock songwriter Shaun Mason) is returning with Broken Glass. It will be out on April 7 via Clamour Records.

Recording and co-produced by S.J. Kardash (the Deep Dark Woods, The Sheepdogs, Reignwolf), this is Dumb Angel's fourth album, and a press release notes that it continues his evolution from stripped-down singer-songwriter to band leader, as the soundscape features harmonies, pedal steel, keys, percussion and layered guitars. It apparently resembles what it would sound like "if Dennis Wilson jammed with Wish You Were Here-era Pink Floyd."

The eight-song tracklist below, as is Dumb Angel's rather sparse tour schedule. It currently consists of shows in Regina and Winnipeg.

At the bottom of the page, hear the sprawling six-minute cosmic country cut "Sometimes When I Am Alone."

CORRECTION: A previous version of this article stated that Jace Lasek recorded Broken Glass, but the label has informed us it was mistaken in stating so. Lasek, however, did produce Eight Moments of Spring.

Broken Glass:

1. Hopelessly Lost
2. Like a Wave, Like a Tide
3. Sometimes When I Am Alone
4. Wanted, Needed, Loved
5. Broken Glass
6. Wind on the Water
7. Tell Me
8. We Are

Tour dates:

01/23 Regina, SK - The Artful Dodger Cafe & Music Emporium *^
01/24 Winnipeg, MB - Handsome Daughter *~

* with Palm Trees
^ with Beautiful UFO
~ with Revenge of the Trees