Dolly Parton, Eminem, Duran Duran Inducted into Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Rage Against the Machine, Kate Bush and Beck didn't make it

BY Alex HudsonPublished May 4, 2022

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has announced this year's inductees, and they include Dolly Parton, Eminem, Duran DuranLionel RichieCarly SimonEurythmics and Pat Benatar.

The Rock Hall will also hand out a few special awards: Judas Priest and Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis are getting the Musical Excellence Award, and Harry Belafonte and Elizabeth Cotten will receive the Early Influence Award. The Ahmet Ertegun Award, for non-performing members of the music industry, will go to Jimmy Iovine (Interscope Records and Beats), Sylvia Robinson (Sugarhill Records) and Allen Grubman (lawyer).

As for nominees who didn't get inducted, they include Rage Against the Machine, Kate Bush, A Tribe Called Quest, Beck, MC5, Devo, Fela Kuti, New York Dolls and Dionne Warwick.

This year's induction ceremony will take place on November 5 at Los Angeles's Microsoft Theater.

Dolly Parton initially declined her nomination, but she changed her mind and said that she would "accept gracefully." This year marked the first nomination for her, Eminem and Carly Simon.

Latest Coverage