Disney Unveils Comprehensive 'The Silly Symphony Collection'

Disney Unveils Comprehensive 'The Silly Symphony Collection'
Vinyl and animation fans will get the chance to rattle their bones to the sounds of "The Skeleton Dance" and other classics from Disney's Silly Symphonies catalogue via an upcoming deluxe box set package documenting the music from all 75 shorts.

Walt Disney Records and Fairfax Classics have teamed up to deliver a 16-LP box set featuring over eight hours of "complete restored soundtracks" from the musical animated short series, which ran from 1929 to 1939.

Naturally, the series' first entry, the Walt Disney-directed The Skeleton Dance, kicks off the collection. Musical arranger Carl Stalling, who worked on both Disney's Silly Symphonies and Warner Bros.' Looney Tunes cartoons, scores the haunted picture with pieces of Edvard Grieg's "March of the Trolls." You'll find the teeth-chattering cartoon down below.

Other notable silly symphonies cartoons include Three Little Pigs, Arctic Antics, King Neptune, Wynken, Blynken & Nod, Hells Bells and The Wise Little Hen, the latter of which marking the debut of  Disney's Donald Duck character. Other composers found on the box include Frank Churchill and Leigh Harline.

The records come house in a foil-stamped slipcase featuring the familiar, sheet music-styled Silly Symphonies logo. The gatefold record jackets feature animation art pulled from throughout the series and include liner notes from Disney historians J.B. Kaufman and Russell Merritt.

While an official arrival time has yet to be solidified, pre-orders for The Silly Symphony Collection go up on August 17. Anyone who pre-orders the set will also receive a bonus 10-inch record that includes Stalling and Churchill's respective soundtracks to The Skeleton Dance and Three Little Pigs.

You can get more information over here.

In related news, the upcoming D23 EXPO 2015 will feature "Disney in Concert: A Silly Symphony Celebration," which will find the songs brought to life by a 32-piece orchestra. The event takes place August 14 to 16 at Disneyland.

The Silly Symphony Collection

Volume 1: 1929-1930:

1. The Skeleton Dance

2. El Terrible Toreador

3. Springtime

4. Hell's Bells

5. The Merry Dwarfs

6. Summer

7. Autumn

8. Cannibal Capers

9. Night

10. Frolicking Fish

11. Arctic Antics

12. Midnight In A Toy Shop

Volume 2: 1930-1931:

1. Monkey Melodies

2. Winter

3. Playful Pan

4. Birds of a Feather

5. Mother Goose Melodies

6. The China Plate

7. The Busy Beavers

8. The Cat's Out

9. Egyptian Melodies

10. The Clock Store

11. The Spider And The Fly

Volume 3: 1931-1933:

1. The Fox Hunt

2. The Ugly Duckling

3. The Bird Store

4. The Bears and the Bees

5. Just Dogs

6. Flowers and Trees

7. Bugs In Love

8. King Neptune

9. Babes In The Woods

10. Santa's Workshop

11. Birds In The Spring

12. Father Noah's Ark

Volume 4: 1933-1934:

1. Three Little Pigs

2. Old King Cole

3. Lullaby Land

4. The Pied Piper

5. The China Shop

6. The Night Before Christmas

7. Grasshopper and the Ants

8. The Big Bad Wolf

Volume 5: 1934-1935:

1. Funny Little Bunnies

2. The Flying Mouse

3. The Wise Little Hen

4. Peculiar Penguins

5. The Goddess of Spring

6. The Tortoise and the Hare

7. The Golden Touch

8. The Robber Kitten

Volume 6: 1935-1936:

1. Water Babies

2. The Cookie Carnival

3. Who Killed Cock Robin?

4. Music Land

5. Three Orphan Kittens

6. Cock O' The Walk

7. Three Little Wolves

8. Elmer Elephant

Volume 7: 1935-1937:

1. Broken Toys

2. Toby Tortoise Returns

3. Three Blind Mouseketeers

4. The Country Cousin

5. Mother Pluto

6. More Kittens

7. Woodland Café

8. Little Hiawatha

Volume 8: 1937-1939:

1. The Old Mill

2. Wynken, Blynken & Nod

3. Moth and the Flame

4. Merbabies

5. Farmyard Symphony

6. Mother Goose Goes Hollywood

7. The Practical Pig

8. The Ugly Duckling