Digable Planets Reissue 'Blowout Comb' via Light in the Attic

Digable Planets Reissue 'Blowout Comb' via Light in the Attic
Last year, reports indicated that cult hip-hop greats Digable Planets might make a full-scale return, but this never came to pass. Instead of launching a comeback, the group are reissuing their 1994 hip-hop classic Blowout Comb.

This double-vinyl reissue will arrive on May 28 through Light in the Attic. The first 150 online orders will be limited-edition white vinyl, while all copies with come with an embossed cover, fold-out poster and new liner notes. Order it here (sadly, the white vinyl is already sold out).

This pressing will preserve the 13-song tracklist of the original. The label writes, "Blowout Comb is intelligent, alternative hip-hop that sounded like party music. Its lyrics are dense with wit, social commentary and politics — and its original inner sleeve was modelled on the newspaper of the Black Panther movement."

Meanwhile, Digable Planets member Ishmael "Butterfly" Butler has been busy working with his current project Shabazz Palaces.

Blowout Comb:

1. The May 4th Movement Starring Doodlebug

2. Black Ego

3. Dog It

4. Jettin'

5. Borough Check

6. Highing Fly

7. Dial 7 (Axioms of Creamy Spies)

8. The Art of Easing

9. K.B.'s Alley (Mood Dudes Groove)

10. Graffiti

11. Blowing Down

12. 9th Wonder (Blackitolism)

13. For Corners