Cold War Kids Announce New Self-Titled Album, Share "Run Away with Me"

It's the follow-up to the 'New Age Norms' triology

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Aug 16, 2023

Cold War Kids have announced their 10th studio album, led by new single "Run Away with Me."

Nearly two decades after the band's inception, Cold War Kids arrives on November 10 through AWAL. It follows their New Age Norms trilogy, which began with New Age Norms 1 in 2019 and culminated in 2021's New Age Norms 3. The new LP features recent single "Double Life."

"This album is where I've most felt like I was the executive producer of everything," frontman Nathan Willett said in a statement. "The band started out with four guys who have very specific tastes and styles, and now it's mostly me making the records in a way I love and have always envisioned. The sound of Cold War Kids has always been there, and I wanted this record to be the ideal, best version of all those things we've always been."

Of the thumping lead single, he added, "We started 'Run Away With Me' with Carlos de la Garza (Paramore, the Linda Lindas) as this Sly Stone-type of funky soul song that evolved into a more soulful pop tune about two desperate, down-and-out lovers." 

Listen to the song below, where you'll also find the album tracklist.

Cold War Kids:

1. Double Life
2. Run Away with Me
3. Stray
4. Toxic Mask
5. Another Name
6. Blame
7. Empty Inside
8. Braindead Megaphone
9. Sunday in the City
10. For Your Love
11. Betting On Us
12. Starring Role

Pre-order Cold War Kids.

Latest Coverage