Cold Cave Announce New Cherish the Light Years LP

Cold Cave Announce New <i>Cherish the Light Years</i> LP
Fresh off yesterday's announcement (January 18) that they would be supporting the Kills on an upcoming North American tour, New York synth outfit Cold Cave have now dished the dirt on their new record.

A press release for the sophomore set, titled Cherish the Light Years, says that the group have made a "remarkable progression" from the simple, icy cold wave numbers that filled up their acclaimed 2008 effort Love Comes Close, pointing to band leader Wesley Eisold's "newfound vocal strength" as a turning point in the band's sound.

Described as "a tour de force of pounding synths and soaring romantic melody," the record is reportedly a New York-centric release, crafted by the singer -- whom led hardcore act Give Up the Ghost in Boston and sang for punkers Some Girls while living in San Diego -- as a "massive, ambitious love letter to his adopted city." Fittingly, the roster of musicians that participate in the disc tend to hail from the Big Apple, such as Yeah Yeah Yeahs guitarist Nick Zinner. Other guests include Glassjaw singer Daryl Palumbo, Matt Sweeney (Zwan, Chavez), Gae Licata, Tonie Joy and Sean Martin.

While Matador won't release the set until April 5, you can currently pre-order a limited-edition handmade version of the vinyl with a special cover designed by the band up on Cold Cave's website. You might want to get over there pretty quick, though. The group are only pressing 123 copies.

Cherish the Light Years:

1. "The Great Pan Is Dead"
2. "Pacing Around The Church"
3. "Confetti"
4. "Catacombs"
5. "Underworld USA"
6. "Icons Of Summer"
7. "Alchemy and You"
8. "Burning Sage"
9. "Villains of the Moon"