CocoRosie Detail 'Tales of a Grass Widow'

CocoRosie Detail 'Tales of a Grass Widow'
Earlier this month, CocoRosie (aka sisters Bianca and Sierra Casady) announced they would be delivering a new LP called Tales of a Grass Widow overseas May 27 via City Slang. The band have now confirmed they'll issue the set in North America themselves the very next day.

A press release notes that the fifth full-length from the group, which follows 2010's Grey Oceans, was produced by the band and Icelandic composer Valgeir Sigurðsson. Longtime collaborator Tez has added some beatbox work to the LP, while Antony and the Johnsons leader Antony Hegarty appears on "Tears for Animals," which had previously been issued on a 7-inch in 2012, and album closer "Poison."

Lyrically, the set apparently homes in on some heavy topics, such as "the destruction of the earth's natural resources and the loss of innocence resulting from child abuse." You can sample the previously teased, pump-organ-and-piano-driven dance tune "Gravediggress" in the player down below.

CocoRosie have plans to tour behind the LP, but dates have yet to be announced. The band will, however, premiere new work on a production of Peter Pan, as performed by the Berliner Ensemble, in Paris later this spring. The performances are being directed by theatre vet Robert Wilson.

You can see the tracklist below and the album art above.

Tales of a Grass Widow:

1. Afterlife

2. Tears For Animals

3. Broken Chariot

4. Child Bride 

5. End Of Time

6. Harmless Monster

7. Gravediggress

8. RIP Humans

9. Roots Of My Hair

10. Villain

11. Poison