Chuck Ragan Announces New Solo LP, Gets Brian Fallon and Frank Turner to Guest

Chuck Ragan Announces New Solo LP, Gets Brian Fallon and Frank Turner to Guest
Hot Water Music frontman and folky solo artist Chuck Ragan has announced details for his upcoming third studio album, Covering Ground.

The LP sees the singer-songwriter collaborating with a wide group of musicians, including his band of Jon Gaunt and Joe Ginsberg alongside Christopher Thorn, Rich Steff, Audra Mae, Lucero's Todd Beene, the Squirrel Nut Zippers' Chris Phillips, the Gaslight Anthem's Brian Fallon and Frank Turner. The album was recorded with Blind Melon's Christopher Thorn.

In a recent interview with Exclaim!, Ragan described his experience with the album's collaborators, saying, "It wasn't until sitting back and listening after finishing tracking and thinking, 'Wow, how did this happen?' The last piece of the puzzle is Frank Turner singing on some stuff... I couldn't be more thrilled about it."

Quoted in a press release, Ragan explains that the album is full of road-weary, blue-collar songs. "The majority, if not all of these songs, were either written on the road or they are about the road. There aren't any hidden meanings within the title at all. It is what it is and it depicts what I've done since the release of the last record, as well as the majority of my life," he says.

Covering Ground will be available on September 13 via SideOneDummy. A fall tour in support of the album is expected to be announced soon.

Covering Ground:

 1. "Nothing Left to Prove"

2. "Nomad by Fate"

3. "You Get What You Give"

4. "Wish on the Moon"

5. "Come Around"

6. "Seems We're OK"

7. "Valentine"

8. "Right as Rain"

9. "Meet You in the Middle"

10. "Lost and Found"