Chris Hadfield Details 'Space Sessions' Album

BY Alex HudsonPublished Aug 10, 2015

Chris Hadfield's album is ready to makes its lift-off. The virally famous Canadian astronaut had promised that he had an LP in the works, and now he's ready to launch Space Sessions: Songs from a Tin Can on October 9 through Warner Music.

The album's guitar and vocal tracks were recorded in Hadfield's's sleep-pod while orbiting Earth. Back on Earth, producer Robbie Lackritz helped to polish off the recordings. Some of the songs were written entirely in space, while others were earlier compositions. All of this begs the question as to whether music counts as Can-con if it's recorded in outer space.

Hadfield's famous cover of David Bowie's "Space Oddity" is included as a bonus track. Evidently Bowie approves of the cover, since his official Facebook account posted about Hadfield's album.

The tracklist is below. Scroll past that to watch a space-themed lyric video for the folk-rock ditty "Feet Up," which describes blasting off into space. Also below, hear a 23-minute audio documentary about the making of Space Sessions, and watch a short trailer for the album.

Previous reports suggested that the album would feature Blue Rodeo, Scott Helman, Buck 65, Courage My Love, Big Wreck, Barenaked Ladies, Matthew Good, the Sheepdogs and Ron Sexsmith, Billy Talent, Ladies of the Canyon and more. The latest announcement makes no mention of whether they ended up on the finished product.

The album is available to pre-order on CD or vinyl right here. Digital copies can be pre-ordered on iTunes.

Space Sessions: Songs from a Tin Can:

1. Big Smoke 
2. Beyond the Terra 
3. Feet Up 
4. I Wonder If She 
5. Caroline 
6. Jewel in the Night
7. Daughter of My Sins
8. Window of My Mind
9. Space Lullaby 
10. Farm Auction 
11. Ride that Lightning
12. Space Oddity (Bonus Track)

Latest Coverage