Chains of Love Detail 'Misery Makers Vol. 1' EP

Chains of Love Detail 'Misery Makers Vol. 1' EP
It's been nearly a year since Vancouver soul-pop revivalists Chains of Love spoke with Exclaim! about their plans to release a new album, and while they previously shared a few tracks from the impending collection, they were taking their time in announcing exactly when it would finally arrive. It looks like the planned full-length has now been turned into an EP, with Misery Makers Vol. 1 slated to arrive on November 5 through Manimal Vinyl/Light Organ.

The EP contains five songs, including the prior 7-inch "Pretend" and the subsequently unveiled "Come and Play." That's the tracklist below, with the previously released songs available to stream below that. Interestingly, the title track (which also appeared on the "Pretend" single) is omitted. The cover artwork is above.

These songs were recorded in Vancouver at band member Felix Fung's Little Red Sounds studio. Fung co-produced the collection along with Brill Building hit-maker Richard Gottehrer (Blondie, Dum Dum Girls the Raveonettes). Mixing was handled by Alonzo Vargas (Dum Dum Girls, the Raveonttes, Eternal Summers). All of the songs were penned by Fung and singer Nathalia Pizarro.

In a prior interview with Exclaim!, Pizarro said, "We've expanded our landscape. Sonically it's a lot different than Strange Grey Days. It's got a rounder sound, if I may say. We wanted to experiment with something a bit more accessible, and a bit more pop, but it still has some dirt to it."

There's no word as to what happened to the plans for a full-length, but the fact that this is subtitled Vol. 1 implies that it will be serialized.

Misery Makers Vol. 1:

1. Come and Play
2. Pretend
3. Enough for Tonight
4. Follow Me
5. Sugar