Camper Van Beethoven Reveals Expanded Reissues of 'Our Beloved Revolutionary Sweetheart' and 'Key Lime Pie'

Camper Van Beethoven Reveals Expanded Reissues of 'Our Beloved Revolutionary Sweetheart' and 'Key Lime Pie'
This year saw Camper Van Beethoven gift fans with La Costa Perdida, their first album since 2004, but the coming year will find the band putting the shine back on their back catalogue via a pair of deluxe reissues.

Omnivore Recordings has revealed plans to reissue both 1988's Our Beloved Revolutionary Sweetheart and 1989's Key Lime Pie in expanded editions on February 4.

Our Beloved Revolutionary Sweetheart was the band's major label debut for Virgin and had been produced by Dennis Herring (Elvis Costello, Counting Crows). A press release, however, notes that the act's first crack with the majors was a weird one, with its first three tracks being "a pop song, an instrumental and an adaptation of a folk dirge about death," and another track being a love song for Stockholm Syndrome-affected bank robber Patty Hearst ("Tania").

The expanded CD edition includes 11 extra tracks, from B-sides to live cuts, while the LP edition preserves the original 14-song run order. This is, however, the first vinyl pressing since the late '80s.

Key Lime Pie was also produced by Herring but features "higher production value and sound than had been heard before" from Camper Van Beethoven. The album proper includes an ode to teamster Jack Ruby ("Jack Ruby") and a cover Status Quo's "Pictures of Matchstick Men."

The CD edition adds B-sides and live tracks as well. The vinyl edition, meanwhile, spreads the original album across three sides and adds "Closing Theme (aka Guitar Hero)" as a track that plays outward from the centre groove on side four.

You'll find the CD tracklistings below.

Our Beloved Revolutionary Sweetheart :

1. Eye Of Fatima (Pt. 1)

2. Eye Of Fatima (Pt. 2)

3. O Death

4. She Divines Water

5. Devil Song

6. One Of These Days

7. Turquoise Jewelry

8. Waka

9. Change Your Mind

10. My Path Belated

11. Never Go Back

12. The Fool

13. Tania

14. Life Is Grand
15. Love Is A Weed *

16. Harmony In My Head *

17. Wade In The Water

18. Eye Of Fatima Pts. 1 & 2 (Edit) *

19. The Day That Lassie Went To The Moon (Live) *

20. One Of These Days (Live) *

21. Smash It Up (Live) *

22. Seven Languages (Live) *

23. Kodachrome (Live) *

24. Hanging Around (Live) *

25. Pope Festival *

Key Lime Pie:

1. Opening Theme

2. Jack Ruby

3. Sweethearts

4. When I Win The Lottery

5. (I Was Born In A) Laundromat

6. Borderline

7. The Light From A Cake

8. June

9. All Her Favorite Fruit

10. Interlude

11. Flowers

12. The Humid Press Of Days

13. Pictures Of Matchstick Men

14. Come On Darkness
15. Closing Theme (Aka Guitar Hero) *

16. (I Was Born In A) Laundromat (Edit) *

17. Country 2 (Demo) *

18. Good Guys & Bad Guys (Live) *

19. Wasted (Live) *

20. Take The Skinheads Bowling (Live) *

21. Before I Met You (Live) *

22. L'aguardiente (Soho Natural Session) *

23. (I Don't Wanna Go To The) Lincoln Shrine
 (Soho Natural Session) *

* bonus track