Broken Social Scene's Kevin Drew Announces 'Darlings' Solo Album, Shares New Single

Broken Social Scene's Kevin Drew Announces 'Darlings' Solo Album, Shares New Single
With Broken Social Scene on hiatus, Brendan Canning recently released a solo album, and now his longtime collaborator Kevin Drew has followed suit. Drew's Darlings will arrive on March 18 through Arts & Crafts.

The album features contributions from some associates of Broken Social Scene and Arts & Crafts, including Ohad Benchetrit (Do Make Say Think, Broken Social Scene), Charles Spearin (Broken Social Scene), Dean Stone (Apostle of Hustle) and Dave Hamelin (Eight and a Half, the Stills). Production was handled by Drew and Hamelin, along with Graham Lessard (Young Galaxy, Stars).

The songs apparently address some sexy subject matter. Drew said in a statement [via Pitchfork], "This record is a celebration of memories. It's about the rise and fall of love and sex, in my own life and in today's society. This topic has been with me for years. I approached it focused purely on the songwriting, leaving all the tricks and explosions behind. I hope you like it... and if you don't, give to someone who will."

A press release also adds: "Darlings reveals a more focused and refined sound; more honest, revelatory songwriting, with Drew's craft concentrated on lyrical and emotional connections, less so than guitar pedals and studio jams."

Scroll past the tracklisting below to hear the atmospheric piano rock cut "Good Sex." The song is about exactly what you'd think, based on the title. And yes, that's the very minimal album art above.


1. Body Butter

2. Good Sex

3. It's Cool

4. Mexican Aftershow Party

5. You Gotta Feel It

6. First in Line

7. Bullshit Ballad

8. My God

9. You in Your Were

10. You Got Caught

11. And That's All I Know