Broadcast's 'Berberian Sound Studio' Soundtrack Gets Album Release

Broadcast's 'Berberian Sound Studio' Soundtrack Gets Album Release
In a perfect move for Halloween, avant-pop adventurists Broadcast have announced the proper release of their spooky score for Brit filmmaker Peter Strickland's recent Italian horror film homage, Berberian Sound Studio. Despite the timely reveal, though, Warp Records won't actually issue the set until January 8 in North America and a day earlier in Europe.

The soundtrack, which will come on vinyl, CD and digitally, is especially notable since it features some of the last work from Broadcast's singer, the late Trish Keenan, who passed away due to complications from pneumonia in January 2011. Along with Broadcast's James Cargill, other contributors include former band member Roj Stevens, Sculpture's Dan Hayhurst, Julian House, Nurse with Wound's Steven Stapleton and Morhogenesis's Clive Graham.

An interview with Cargill explains that the band and the director had admired each other's work before linking up to work on Berberian Sound Studio, whose plot focuses on a Brit soundsmith working on the soundtrack to a dicey '70s Italian giallo flick.

"The music we composed was to be mournful and emotive… almost romantic, with references to the mediaeval, whilst making it sound convincingly 1976, the year Berberian is set in," Cargill told The Outer Church [via FACT].

A press release adds that the soundtrack was originally composed for The Equestrian Vortex, a film within the film that lead character Gilderoy composes for his bosses. In the film, the composer is instructed to evoke the sounds of "bloodcurdling screams, limbs being severed and the insertion of red hot pokers into human orifices, mostly using a variety of everyday household items such as old vegetables and a hammer".

You can check out a trailer for the meta-film down below after the tracklist.

As previously reported, Cargill is currently working on another Broadcast album using recordings done by Keenan before her death.

Berberian Sound Studio:

1. A Breeze Through the Burford Spur
2. The Equestrian Vortex
3. Beautiful Hair
4. Malleus Maleficarum
5. Mark of the Devil
6. Confession Modulation
7. Monica's Fall
8. Teresa's Song (Sorrow)
9. The North Downs Dimension
10. Collatina Is Coming
11. Such Tender Things
12. Teresa, Lark of Ascension
13. Monica's Burial (Under the Junipers)
14. Found Scalded, Found Drowned
15. Monica (Her Parents Have Been Informed)
16. The Fifth Claw
17. Saducismus Triumphatus
18. The Gallops
19. They're Here, They're Under Us
20. Collatina, Mark of Damnation
21. Treatise
22. A Goblin
23. The Equestrian Library
24. The Serpent's Semen
25. Burnt at the Stake
26. All Chiffchaffs
27. The Curfew After the Massacre
28. Poultry in Mind
29. The Sacred Marriage
30. Valeria's Burial (Under the Fort)
31. Edda's Burial (Under the Clumps)
32. The Game's Up
33. It Must've Been the Magpies
34. The Dormitory Window
35. Anima di Cristo
36. His World Is My Shed
37. Collatina's Folly
38. Here Comes the Sabbath, There Goes the Cross
39. Our Darkest Sabbath