Brandi Carlile Announces New Album 'In These Silent Days,' Shares First Single

Watch the Courteney Cox-directed video for "Right on Time"
Brandi Carlile Announces New Album 'In These Silent Days,' Shares First Single
Brandi Carlile has unveiled her seventh studio LP In These Silent Days, due October 1 via Low Country Sound/Elektra Records. Today, the singer-songwriter has shared the first single "Right on Time" alongside a visual directed by Courteney Cox.

In These Silent Days will mark the follow-up to Carlile's 2018 album By the Way, I Forgive You. The Highwomen co-founder worked with producers Dave Cobb and Shooter Jennings, and Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig of Lucius contributed vocals to "You and Me on the Rock."

Of the upcoming albu, Carlile said in a statement:

Never before have the twins and I written an album during a time of such uncertainty and quiet solitude. I never imagined that I'd feel so exposed and weird as an artist without the armour of a costume, the thrill of an applause and the platform of the sacred stage. Despite all this, the songs flowed through — pure and unperformed, loud and proud, joyful and mournful; written in my barn during a time of deep and personal reckoning. There's plenty reflection... but mostly it's a celebration. This album is what drama mixed with joy sounds like. It's resistance and gratitude, righteous anger and radical forgiveness. It's the sound of these silent days.

If the mid-tempo balladry of "Right on Time" is any indication, the album promises to wring hope and gratitude from its revelations — no matter how painful.

See Carlile trapped inside a literal glass-case of emotion in the video for "Right on Time" below, and check out the full album tracklist.

In These Silent Days:

1. Right on Time
2. You and Me on the Rock
3. This Time Tomorrow
4. Broken Horses
5. Letter to the Past
6. Mama Werewolf
7. When You're Wrong
8. Stay Gentle
9. Sinners Saints and Fools
10.Throwing Good After Bad

Pre-order In These Silent Days.