Born Gold Unveils 'I Am an Exit,' Premieres New Track

Born Gold Unveils 'I Am an Exit,' Premieres New Track
Glossy Edmonton electro-pop player Born Gold (a.k.a. Cecil Frena) is set to return this fall with his third LP, I Am an Exit, marking his first album since 2012's Little Sleepwalker. The new record drops October 8 via Hovercraft in Canada and Art Control in the U.S.

The press release didn't offer too much info behind the recording, but a quick Q&A with Frena reveals that he's been listening to the following artists of late: Andy Stott, Mount Eerie, Angel Haze, ceo, Kanye West, Four Tet, Blawan, Crystal Castles, Taylor Swift, Grimes, Purity Ring, Elite Gymnastics and Blood Diamonds.

"Music is pretty much the cosmic fabric but i would rather expose people to it than make fun of their taste," he said in a statement.

Born Gold also delivered a new video for the album's "Hunger," which you can download at the bottom of the page. As you'll see down below, the clip has a few deathly "gotcha" moments captured in art galleries and public park picnics. As for the song, it features the multi-layered, synth-swollen pop beats and passionate cries we've got used to from Frena.

Art Control and Chill Mega Chill will also be collaborating on a limited vinyl release, with a cassette release also coming from the latter.

Check out the album art above and the tracklist below.

I Am an Exit:

1. Abdomen
2. Hunger
3. Gasoline Bath
4. No Reflection
5. Clever Animals
6. Strange Wind
7. Boy Foundry
8. I Am the Bent Blade
9. Butcher
10. Braille