Body Count's Self-Titled Debut Gets Vinyl Reissue

Body Count's Self-Titled Debut Gets Vinyl Reissue
While Body Count singer Ice-T warned us many years ago to leave alone the voodoo, the rapper will likely want you to grab a copy of his metal offshoot's debut LP, which is being served up again on vinyl via Warner Bros./Rhino.

A press release confirms that the 1992 self-titled debut from Body Count arrives on wax again on June 3, with this apparently being the first-ever North American pressing. The album followed up the band's first appearance, the eponymous salvo squished into Ice-T's 1991 solo rap set O.G.: Original Gangster, fleshing out T's exploration with the world of hard rock.

Described as showcasing "a legendary rapper who drops knowledge, violent stories and verbal middle fingers" over a metal-influenced backdrop, the album includes "Body Count," here dubbed "Body Count Anthem," as well as Down South horror tale "Voodoo," the equal-opportunity misogyny of "KKK Bitch," socially conscious headbanger "There Goes the Neighborhood" and more. If you ever wanted to be reminded of what "Evil Dick" sounds like, now's your chance.

This is, however, the modified version of Body Count, sans the controversial anti-police brutality anthem "Cop Killer," which had stirred up controversy back in the '90s, drew ire from then U.S. president George Bush Sr., and led to a proposed boycott of Warner Bros.

You'll see the rest of the song details down below.

The Body Count reissue comes ahead of the band's upcoming Manslaughter LP, which is expected to land sometime in 2014 via Sumerian Records. The full details behind the set have yet to be delivered, but it will be the first collection of new music from Body Count since 2006's Murder 4 Hire.

Body Count:

1.  Smoked Pork
2.  Body Count's In The House
3.  Now Sports
4.  A Statistic
5.  Bowels Of The Devil
6.  The Real Problem
7.  KKK Bitch
8.  C Note
9.  Voodoo
10. The Winner Loses
11. There Goes The Neighborhood
12. Oprah
13. Evil Dick
14. Body Count Anthem
15. Momma's Gotta Die Tonight
16. Freedom Of Speech