Blu & Exile Return with First New Album in Eight Years

Double LP 'Miles' arrives in July with Miguel, Aloe Blacc and more

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished May 20, 2020

Following last year's True & Livin EP, Blu & Exile have returned to detail their first new record in eight years. The revered duo will share double album Miles on July 17 through Dirty Science Records.

Twenty tracks in length, Miles follows Blu & Exile's 2012 full-length Give Me My Flowers While I Can Still Smell Them. The new effort shares a release date with the pair's revered 2007 team-up Below the Heavens.

Miles features collaborations with Miguel, Aloe Blacc, Fashawn, Iman Omari, Jimetta Rose and more. You can find a complete tracklist following album cuts "True & Livin'," "Miles Davis" and "Spread Sunshine" below.

"It's all about coming full circle," Blu said of the album in conversation with Complex. "We're bringing it back to some of our traditional sounds and the grassroots that we come with. We're bringing it back to basics, and we decided to go and pull from some of the people who helped pioneer our sounds."

Asked if he felt any pressure to match the reverence of Below the Heavens with their new effort, Exile added, "When I was trying to sell Blu on what type of album we should make, I felt like we had a responsibility to follow in the footsteps of the greats before us to make sure that we follow our tradition of sound and update it sonically, but also lyrically, with where we're at now. I don't know if pressure was the right word, rather than finding the comfortability of our chemistry again. Once we found that, and it felt right, it just naturally happened for us to be able to, basically, pick up from where we left off at our best chemistry."


1. Blue
2. When The Gods Meet (ft. Ishe)
3. True & Livin'
4. Miles Davis 
5. The Feeling (ft. Jacinto Rhines)
6. Music Is My Everything (ft. Choosey & Jimetta Rose)
7. Bright As Stars (ft. Aceyalone, Iman Omari & Ishe)
8. Blue As I Can Be
9. You Ain't Never Been Blue
10. Miles Away (ft. C.S. Armstrong)
11. Troubled Water (ft. Gappy Ranks)
12. Roots Of Blue (ft. Jacinto Rhines)
13. African Dream (ft. Gappy Ranks & Aloe Blacc)
14. Requiem Of Blue (ft. Fashawn)
15. The American Dream (ft. Miguel & The Last Artful, Dodgr)
16. Dear Lord (ft. Jimetta Rose)
17. To The Fall, But Not Forgotten
18. All The Blues
19. Spread Sunshine
20. The End (ft. Dag Savage, Cashus King & ADAD)

Pre-order Miles.

Latest Coverage