Blonde Redhead Get Deerhunter, Interpol, Fever Ray for Japan Benefit Comp

Blonde Redhead Get Deerhunter, Interpol, Fever Ray for Japan Benefit Comp
Japan is still in a state of recovery following the devastating earthquake and tsunamis that rocked the island nation last spring, and Blonde Redhead are now looking to pitch in by donating the proceeds from their new benefit compilation album to the cause.

Titled We are the Works in Progress, the record, which comes out January 10 on the trio's newly minted Asa Wa Kuru imprint, features exclusive tracks from Blonde Redhead, Deerhunter, Karin Andersson of the Knife/Fever Ray, Four Tet, John Maus, Liars and more. On top of the unreleased numbers, rarities and B-sides are also featured from Broadcast, Interpol and Terry Riley. You can check the tracklisting below.

Proceeds will go to the Japan Society and Architecture for Humanity. The cause is near to Blonde Redhead singer Kazu Makino, who was born in Kyoto, Japan, and the singer hopes she can work with agencies towards limiting the necessity for nuclear power. A major concern in the spring was how to deal with the damaged nuclear reactor in Fukushima.

As for the music, Makino explained, perhaps as a parallel to the rebuilding nation, how she sees the beauty in unfinished business.

"Unfinished things often carry more energy... the possibility of it eventually becoming something great is infinite without having to be quite yet," she said in a statement. "I've noticed that each songs relates to one another. Like my friend Scott Mou said, 'It sounds like each song is passing a baton to the next one." I feel the same way."

Thanks to Pitchfork for the tip.

We are the Works in Progress:

1. Four Tet "Moma" *

2. Karin Andersson "No Face" *

3. Terry Riley "G Song" %

4. Nosaj Thing "Nightcrawler" *

5. John Roberts "Berceuse" *

6. Blonde Redhead "Penny Sparkle [Drew Brown remix]" *

7. Pantha du Prince "Bird on a Wire" *

8. Broadcast "In Here the World Begins" ^

9. Liars "Drip [Blonde Redhead remix]" *

10. Deerhunter "Curve" *

11. Stalactite "Stalagmite" *

12. John Maus "Castles in the Grave" *

13. David Sylvian/Ryuichi Sakamoto "Bamboo House"

14. Interpol "Song Seven" $

* exclusive

% new version

^ re-release from vinyl-only tour release

$ previously released B-side