Black Tusk Reveal 'Pillars of Ash'

Black Tusk Reveal 'Pillars of Ash'
A year on from the tragic motor vehicle accident that claimed the life of Black Tusk bassist Jonathan Athon, the Savannah, GA metal outfit have revealed plans to issue their final recordings with their fallen bandmate. The band's Pillars of Ash LP will hit stores January 29 through Relapse Records.

A press release explains that Black Tusk had hit the studio in 2014 with engineer Joel Grind (Toxic Holocaust) ahead of the accident. Described in a press release as the trio's "finest accomplishment to date," the 11-song Pillars of Ash is the band's first proper full-length since 2011's Set the Dial. They had, however, issued the Tend No Wounds EP in 2013 and digital mini-release Vulture's Eye in 2014.

As previously reported, a SUV collided with Athon's motorcycle in downtown Savannah last November, killing the metal musician and placing his girlfriend, Emily Boutwell, in hospital. The band contemplated breaking up, but opted to stay together to honour the founding member's legacy.

Following a handful of European dates with former Kylesa bassist Corey Barhorst handling four-string duties "for the time being," he's now joined the act as a full-time member.

You'll find the full tracklisting for Pillars of Ash below, as well as the savage and sludge-tastic first preview, "God's on Vacation." The cover art, prepped by Jeremy Hush (Skeletonwitch, Rwake), is up above.

Pillars of Ash

1.  God's On Vacation
2.  Desolation of Endless Times
3.  Bleed on Your Knees
4.  Born of Strife
5.  Damned in the Ground
6.  Beyond the Divide
7.  Black Tide
8.  Still Not Well
9.  Walk Among the Sky
10.  Punk Out
11.  Leveling