Billy Bragg Announces New Album 'The Million Things That Never Happened'

Hear the record's "I Will Be Your Shield"

BY Brock ThiessenPublished Jul 14, 2021

Billy Bragg is returning with a new album. Called The Million Things That Never Happened, the record is due out on October 8 via Cooking Vinyl.

The album will mark Bragg's 10th studio effort, and today he's showing it off some with the song "I Will Be Your Shield." 
As Bragg explained of the track, "To me this is the heart and soul of the album."

Of the album as a whole, he offered the following:

I've come to the conclusion that empathy is the currency of music — that our job as songwriters is to help people come to terms with their feelings by offering them examples of how others may have dealt with a situation similar to that in which listeners find themselves. After what we've all been through, the idea of being a shield, physically, emotionally, psychologically, really resonates.

Check out "I Will Be Your Shield" below, where you can also watch a trailer for the album.

The Million Things That Never Happened was produced by Romeo Stodart and Dave Izumi at Echo Zoo studio in Eastbourne, England.

The Million Things That Never Happened:

1. Should Have Seen It Coming
2. Mid-Century Modern
3. Lonesome Ocean
4. Good Days and Bad Days
5. Freedom Doesn't Come for Free
6. Reflections on the Mirth of Creativity
7. The Million Things That Never Happened
8.  The Buck Doesn't Stop Here No More
9.  I Believe in You
10. Pass It On
11. I Will Be Your Shield
12. Ten Mysterious Photos That Can't Be Explained

Pre-order The Million Things That Never Happened.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage