Ben Folds Five Announce 'The Sound of the Life of the Mind'

Ben Folds Five Announce 'The Sound of the Life of the Mind'
Ben Folds Five have been offering occasional updates about their forthcoming full-length, and they even shared a surging new track called "Do It Anyway" back in the spring. Now, the reunited piano rock trio have officially announced their first LP since 1999's The Unauthorized Biography of Reinhold Messner.

The new album is called The Sound of the Life of the Mind, and it will come out on September 18 via ImaVeePee Records/Sony Music Entertainment.

A press release confirms the titles of 11 new songs, and you can see the complete tracklist below.

The album title comes from the name of a song with lyrics penned by Nick Hornby, who Folds previously recorded a collaborative album with.

Ben Folds Five began recording the album in January. It was funded by a successful PledgeMusic campaign. Listen to the track "Do It Anyway" below, and read some of Folds's comments on the album here.

The band will be touring this fall, with shows booked in the U.S., Australia and the UK. See the schedule over at the band's website.

The Sound of the Life of the Mind:

1. Erase Me
2. Michael Praytor, Five Years Later
3. Sky High
4. The Sound Of The Life Of The Mind
5. On Being Frank
6. Draw A Crowd
7. Do It Anyway
8. Hold That Thought
9. Away When You Were Here
10. Thank You For Breaking My Heart