Beach Fossils Return with 'Somersault' LP, Share "This Year"

Beach Fossils Return with 'Somersault' LP, Share 'This Year'
Four years removed from release Clash the Truth, Beach Fossils have revealed they'll be back in action with a new full-length this year. Titled Somersault, the record will arrive through the band's own Bayonet Records on June 2.

Said to showcase "a band in bloom," Somersault runs 11 tracks in length and is said to evoke "the laid-back mood of a warm, breezy city night, the air crackling with humidity and excitement."

Somersault also marks a more collaborative songwriting process between founding member Dustin Payseur and bandmates Jack Doyle Smith and Tommy Davidson. The record is also said to feature "more complex instrumentation, including string arrangements, piano, harpsichord, flute, and sax."

The record also features guest appearances from Slowdive's Rachel Goswell, as well as Cities Aviv.

Along with the album announcement, the band have shared the record's first single, opener "This Year." Frontman Payseur explained in a statement that "This Year" is "about facing mistakes you've made, aiming to work on it and better yourself, but ending up making the same mistakes again. It's kind of an endless loop. People always aim to make New Year's resolutions, get a fresh start, but ultimately fall back into these old bad habits."

Read through the tracklisting to hear "This Year" in the player below.


1. This Year
2. Tangerine (ft. Rachel Goswell)
3. Saint Ivy
4. May 1st
5. Rise (ft. Cities Aviv)
6. Sugar
7. Closer Everywhere
8. Social Jetlag
9. Down The Line
10. Be Nothing
11. That's All For Now