Beach Boys Assemble Sprawling 'Smiley Smile'/'Wild Honey' Rarities Set

Beach Boys Assemble Sprawling 'Smiley Smile'/'Wild Honey' Rarities Set
While we've seen more than a few reissues surrounding the Beach Boys' fabled Smiley Smile/Wild Honey period, the rock'n'roll legends are once again being celebrated with a massive new rarities set from the beloved era.

Titled 1967 - Sunshine Tomorrow, the collection will arrive on June 30 via Capitol/UMe as a double-CD/digital set. The same day a new stereo mix of Wild Honey will also get a 50th anniversary 180-gram vinyl edition.

1967 - Sunshine Tomorrow features producers Mark Linett and Alan Boyd's new stereo mix of the Beach Boys' 1967 album Wild Honey, opening up the band's vaults to include some 54 rarities. Among these are the group's shelved "live" album Lei'd in Hawaii; recordings, demos and outtakes from the Wild Honey and Smiley Smile sessions; and various live cuts captured between 1967 and 1970.

"I wanted to have a home environment trip where we could record at my house," recalls Brian Wilson in the liner notes for 1967 – Sunshine Tomorrow. "I wanted to try something different, something new. I produced Smiley Smile, but Mike [Love] inspired me. He said 'Brian, let's make a really good, easygoing album'. We had an engineer convert my den into a studio. We had my piano detuned to make it ring more."

Mike Love adds, "Just prior to that, Brian had built up this production peak and then just completely reversed field, and (for Smiley Smile) did something so light and airy, and y' know, easy. That was an underground album, I figure, for us. It was completely out of the mainstream of what was going on at that time, which was all hard rock, psychedelic music, and here we come with a song called 'Wind Chimes.' It just didn't have anything to do with what was going on — and that was the idea."

Down below, you can check out the collection's sprawling tracklist.

1967 – Sunshine Tomorrow:

Disc 1:

Wild Honey (Stereo):

1. Wild Honey
2. Aren't You Glad
3. I Was Made To Love Her
4. Country Air
5. A Thing Or Two
6. Darlin'
7. I'd Love Just Once To See You
8. Here Comes The Night
9. Let The Wind Blow
10. How She Boogalooed It
11. Mama Says * (Original Mono Mix)

Wild Honey Sessions: September – November 1967 (Previously Unreleased):

12. Lonely Days (Alternate Version)
13. Cool Cool Water (Alternate Early Version)
14. Time To Get Alone (Alternate Early Version)
15. Can't Wait Too Long (Alternate Early Version)
16. I'd Love Just Once To See You (Alternate Version)
17. I Was Made To Love Her (Vocal Insert Session)
18. I Was Made To Love Her (Long Version)
19. Hide Go Seek
20. Honey Get Home
21. Wild Honey (Session Highlights)
22. Aren't You Glad (Session Highlights)
23. A Thing Or Two (Track And Backing Vocals)
24. Darlin' (Session Highlights)
25. Let The Wind Blow (Session Highlights)

Wild Honey Live: 1967 – 1970 (Previously Unreleased):

26. Wild Honey (Live)  – recorded in Detroit, November 17, 1967
27. Country Air (Live)  – recorded in Detroit, November 17, 1967
28. Darlin' (Live) – recorded in Pittsburgh, November 22, 1967
29. How She Boogalooed It (Live)  – recorded in Detroit, November 17, 1967
30. Aren't You Glad (Live) – recorded in 1970, location unknown
31. Mama Says (Session Highlights)
(Previously unreleased vocal session highlights. Recorded at Wally Heider Recording, November 1967)

Disc 2:

Smiley Smile Sessions: June – July 1967 (Previously Unreleased):

1. Heroes And Villains (Single Version Backing Track)
2. Vegetables (Long Version)
3. Fall Breaks And Back To Winter (Alternate Mix)
4. Wind Chimes (Alternate Tag Section)
5. Wonderful (Backing Track)
6. With Me Tonight (Alternate Version With Session Intro)
7. Little Pad (Backing Track)
8. All Day All Night (Whistle In) (Alternate Version 1)
9. All Day All Night (Whistle In) (Alternate Version 2)
10. Untitled (Redwood) * (Previously unreleased instrumental fragment. Studio and exact recording date unknown. Discovered in tape box labeled "Redwood")

Lei'd In Hawaii "Live" Album: September 1967 (Previously Unreleased):

11. Fred Vail Intro
12. The Letter
13. You're So Good To Me
14. Help Me, Rhonda
15. California Girls
16. Surfer Girl
17. Sloop John B
18. With A Little Help From My Friends * (Recorded at Brian Wilson's house, September 23, 1967)
19. Their Hearts Were Full Of Spring * (Recorded during rehearsal, August 26, 1967, Honolulu, Hawaii)
20. God Only Knows
21. Good Vibrations
22. Game Of Love
23. The Letter (Alternate Take)
24. With A Little Help From My Friends (Stereo Mix)

Live In Hawaii: August 1967 (Previously Unreleased):

25. Hawthorne Boulevard
26. Surfin'
27. Gettin' Hungry
28. Hawaii (Rehearsal Take)
29. Heroes And Villains (Rehearsal)

Thanksgiving Tour 1967: Live In Washington, D.C. & Boston (Previously Unreleased):

30. California Girls (Live) – recorded in Washington, DC, November 19, 1967
31. Graduation Day (Live) – recorded in Washington, DC, November 19, 1967
32. I Get Around (Live)  – recorded in Boston, November 23, 1967
Additional 1967 Studio Recordings (Previously Unreleased)
33. Surf's Up (1967 Version) (Recorded during the Wild Honey sessions in November 1967)
34. Surfer Girl (1967 A Capella Mix) (Previously unreleased mix of Lei'd In Hawaii take from the Wally Heider Recording sessions in September 1967)