Antony and the Johnsons Detail 'Turning' Film Release and Live Album

Antony and the Johnsons Detail 'Turning' Film Release and Live Album
Back in 2006, Antony and the Johnsons and artist Charles Atlas toured Europe, sharing the stage with 13 women and filming the performances. The footage came together as the concert film Turning, which was screened at festivals in 2011 and 2012, and will now be getting a DVD release.

In addition to the film's release, the audio from a November 2006 show at London's The Barbican will be getting the CD treatment. The CD will also include two rare studio recordings from the time of the tour.

A press release describes Turning as "an intimate and cinematic journey exploring themes of identity, transcendence, and the revelation of a revolutionary feminine essence."

A statement from Antony Hegarty about the forthcoming package reads:

I would describe Turning as some of the most significant work of my career. Charles Atlas and I spent seven years producing the film and another year and a half showing the film at select festivals. In the last three years especially, the recognition of transgendered people and the resurgence of feminist consciousness has exploded in popular culture around the world.

We planted some seeds for this zeitgeist in 2006, when I travelled with thirteen courageous women across Europe and presented the concert
Turning, exploring the intersection between images of contemporary trans-femininity and visions of pioneering future feminist artists such as Kembra Pfahler and Johanna Constantine. We shared this circle of modern femininity with the world, bringing it from the late night stages of NYC to some of the most highly regarded theaters in Europe.

Turning will arrive in North America on November 11 via Secretly Canadian and you can scroll past the tracklisting to check out a trailer for the film below. The Turning recording of "Daylight and the Sun" can be streamed below as well.


1. Everything Is New
2. My Lord, My Love
3. Cripple and the Starfish
4. For Today I Am a Boy
5. Where Is My Power?
6. Spiralling
7. Find the Rhythm of Your Love
8. I Fell in Love With a Dead Boy
9. Bird Gehrl
10. Kiss My Name
11. Daylight and the Sun
12. One Dove
13. Hope There's Someone
14. Twilight
15. You Are My Sister
16. Whose Are These
17. Tears Tears Tears