Amon Tobin Returns with Isam

Amon Tobin Returns with <i>Isam</i>
Montreal-via-Brazil drum and bass experimenter Amon Tobin has had somewhat of a creative reinvention over the last decade, from soundtracking videogames like Chaos Theory: Splinter Cell 3 to exploring field recordings on his last proper studio album, 2007's Foley Room. With that in mind, the artist could go in a number of different directions on his newly announced album Isam.

His label, Ninja Tune, says that's exactly what he does, as Isam sees him "redrawing and blurring the lines between psychedelia and sci-fi, between art and entertainment, between sound design and melody," going on to call it the "finest, most intense work of his very considerable career, an extension and refinement of everything he has achieved thus far."

Isam will be available on May 24 via Ninja Tune. The album can be pre-ordered in various formats here, including as a limited-edition hardcover art book that includes the album on vinyl and CD. A brief audio teaser from Isam is available below.


 1. "Journeyman"

2. "Piece Of Paper"

3. "Goto 10"

4. "Surge"

5. "Lost & Found"

6. "Wooden Toy"

7. "Mass & Spring"

8. "Calculate"

9. "Kitty Cat"

10. "Bedtime Stories"

11. "Night Swim"

12. "Dropped From The Sky"

'ISAM' Preview by Amon Tobin