Amadou & Mariam Recruit Nas, K'naan, Miike Snow for Remix Album

Amadou & Mariam Recruit Nas, K'naan, Miike Snow for Remix Album
Malian duo Amadou & Mariam are quickly establishing themselves as one of North America's favourite African bands. The couple have won over English-speaking audiences by appearing on late night talk shows and contributing a track to The Twilight Saga: New Moon, not to mention releasing a killer album by way of last year's Welcome to Mali. Now, they are getting ready for a remix album, plus a new LP.

On December 20, Nonesuch/Because will release the functionally titled Remixes, which has features contributions from Akon, Miike Snow, Nas, Damian Marley, Yuksek, Vitalic and more.

Some of these remixes are brand new and some have been previously released. See the full tracklist below, and click on the embedded video to hear Bob Sinclair's take on "Africa" (ft. K'naan).

Amadou & Mariam are currently working on their new LP. According to a post on the pair's website, the album will feature Santigold and Yeah Yeah Yeahs guitarist Nick Zinner. It's due out in late 2011.


1. "Africa (Bob Sinclar Remix Radio Edit)" (ft. K'naan)

2. "Coulibaly (Akon Remix)"

3. "Ilbiwan (Laskez Remix)"

4. "Patience ('Sabali' version by Nas & Damian Marley)"

5. "Poulo (Busta Funk Remix)"

6. "La Réalité (Yuksek Remix)"

7 "Sabali (Grey X Sage Remix)" (ft. Theophilus London)

8. "Je Pense à Toi, Mon Amour, Ma Chérie (DJ Alix Remix)"

9. "Ce N'est Pas Bon (Dj Aero Remix Radio Edit)"

10. "Sabali (Vitalic Remix Radio Edit)"

11. "Coulibaly (Ashley Beedle's Afrikanz on Marz Remix Radio Edit)"

12. "Artistiya (SABO's Disco Edit)"

13. "Masiteladi (Mo DJ Remix)"

14. "Sabali (Miike Snow Remix)"