The Albertans Enter the New Age on Upcoming LP

The Albertans Enter the <i>New Age</i> on Upcoming LP
Despite what their name might suggest, the Albertans aren't actually based out of the prairie province. Rather, the indie rock quintet formed in Vancouver and then spent most of the past two years on the road, living the nomadic life of a touring rock band. Now, the group are ready to release their second full-length, New Age.

The album is the follow-up to 2009's Legends of Sam Marco. It was recorded at Chandelier Studio in Brooklyn, where the band were temporarily based. It's due to come out on March 8 via Ernest Jenning Record Company. You can see the album cover above and the tracklist below.

For a taste of what the disc has to offer, you can download to the haunting, keyboard-heavy single "The Wake" for free from the label right here. At the bottom of this page, you can see the video for that track, which borrows a bunch of vintage clips of people cycling around a neighbourhood wearing ape masks.

The Albertans are currently based in Vancouver once again, but they're planning to hit the road for a full North American tour in the spring. In the meantime, they have a handful of local shows, plus a trip down to Texas for SXSW. Scroll past the tracklist for the schedule, which includes a date with Hot Panda.

New Age:

1. "Jackpot"
2. "The Wake"
3. "Mila"
4. "May"
5. "Megan"
6. "Okay Now"
7. "People Don't Go"
8. "Furniture"
9. "Mellow"
10. "New Age"

Tour dates:

2/18 Bowen Island, BC - Bowen Island Pub *
2/24 Vancouver, BC - Biltmore ^
3/19 Austin, TX - SXSW (Ernest Jenning Showcase)
3/26 Vancouver, BC - The Waldorf (CBC/Peak FM Showcase)

* with Daniel Carter
^ with Hot Panda and Analog Bell Service