Adrian Teacher & the Subs Explore 'Terminal City' on New LP

BY Gregory AdamsPublished May 3, 2016

To follow up last year's Sorta Hafta EP, onetime Apollo Ghosts leader Adrian Teacher has announced the arrival of some full-length action from himself and his new band the Subs. Their Terminal City arrives May 27 through You've Changed Records.

A press release explains that the Vancouver-based songwriter and his backup band of drummer Amanda Pezzutto and bassist Robbie Nall travelled out to Montreal's Bottle Garden facility to record part of the 10-song Terminal City with Peter Woodford (Freelove Fenner, Moss Lime). The Subs then went back home to record and mix with David Carswell (Destroyer, New Pornographers) at JC/DC studios.

The collection is said to be informed by power pop and vintage, '70s pub rock, à la Nick Lowe. Despite these brighter tones, the record is said to be thematically quite heavy, and deals with "a rapidly changing Vancouver, an endangered planet, faltering relationships and personal loss."

To preview the platter, Adrian Teacher & the Subs have premiered a video for album track "Victory Square." You can peep it below, courtesy of AUX.

Terminal City:

1. Emily Carr Punks
2. Victory Square
3. Called Up
4. Charmless Babes
5. Terminal City
6. Forget America
7. Westfalia 79
8. I Feel The Same
9. Weird At Shows
10. Be Prepared To Stop

Latest Coverage