Here Are All the 2021 Canadian Screen Awards Nominees

'Schitt's Creek' has netted a massive 21 noms, followed by 'Cardinal: Until the Night,' 'Trickster' and 'Blood Quantum'
Here Are All the 2021 Canadian Screen Awards Nominees
The nominees for the 2021 Canadian Screen Awards have been announced, and they once again remind us that this country really does love Schitt's Creek.

The 9th annual awards will take place between May 17 and May 20 during a series of presentations, and Schitt's Creek leads both the television and overall nomination with a whopping 21 noms for its sixth and final season.

Cardinal: Until the Night and Trickster then follow with 15 nominations each.

Jeff Barnaby's Blood Quantum zombie flick also roped in an impressive 10 nominations, while Deepa Mehta's Funny Boy to nine and Charles Officer's Akilla's Escape raked in eight.

You can see the long list of 2021 nominees below.

"As we look forward to brighter days, we are honoured to celebrate the momentous achievements of the 2021 Canadian Screen Award nominees and their creative works with Canadians from coast-to-coast-to-coast," said Beth Janson, CEO, Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television, in a statement.

John Young, Chair, Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television, added: "The nominees for the 2021 Canadian Screen Awards make one thing very clear: we have a group of incredibly talented individuals in this country. It is our immense privilege to spotlight the excellence and success of our industry, and to show our appreciation for the stories they tell."

The 2021 Canadian Screen Awards will be given out as a seven-part series of presentations — streamed live on, as well as the Canadian Academy Twitter and YouTube channels.

Canadian Screen Awards 2021 Nominees:


Best Motion Picture


Funny Boy

Nadia, Butterfly

The Nest

Underground | Souterrain

Achievement in Cinematography

Maya Bankovic – Akilla's Escape

Marie Davignon – Beans

Michel St-Martin – Blood Quantum

James Klopko, CSC – A Fire In The Cold Season

Stéphanie Wiber Biron – Nadia, Butterfly

Performance By an Actor in a Leading Role

Saul Williams – Akilla's Escape

Michael Greyeyes – Blood Quantum

Alex Wolff – Castle in the Ground

Lance Henriksen – Falling

Joakim Robillard – Underground | Souterrain

Performance By an Actress in a Supporting Role

Amy Groening – Bone Cage

Agam Darshi – Funny Boy

Mary Walsh – Happy Place

Micheline Lanctôt – Laughter | Le rire

Felicity Huffman – Tammy's Always Dying

Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary

The Forbidden Reel – Ariel Nasr, Sergeo Kirby, Kat Baulu, Annette Clarke

Stateless – Michèle Stephenson, Jennifer Holness, Lea Marin, Anita Lee, Joe Brewster, Sudz Sutherland

Wandering: A Rohingya Story | Errance sans retour – Mélanie Carrier, Olivier Higgins

A Woman, My Mother | Une femme, ma mère – Claude Demers

The World is Bright – Ying Wang, Jian Ping Su, Jordan Paterson


Best Drama Series

Burden of Truth — CBC (CBC)

Cardinal: Until The Night — CTV (Bell Media)

Departure — Global (Corus Entertainment)

Transplant — CTV (Bell Media)

Vikings — History (Corus Entertainment)

Best Comedy Series

Baroness Von Sketch Show — CBC (CBC)

Kim's Convenience — CBC (CBC)

Letterkenny — Crave (Bell Media)

Schitt's Creek — CBC (CBC)

Workin' Moms — CBC (CBC)

Best Lead Actor, Drama Series

Peter Mooney, Burden of Truth — CBC (CBC)

Billy Campbell, Cardinal: Until The Night — CTV (Bell Media)

Roger Cross, Coroner — CBC (CBC)

Hamza Haq, Transplant — CTV (Bell Media)

Joel Oulette, Trickster — CBC (CBC)

Best Lead Actress, Drama Series

Kristen Kreuk, Burden of Truth — CBC (CBC)

Karine Vanasse, Cardinal: Until the Night — CTV (Bell Media)

Vinessa Antoine, Diggstown — CBC (CBC)

Crystale Lightning, Trickster — CBC (CBC)

Melanie Scrofano, Wynonna Earp — CTV Sci Fi Channel (Bell Media)

Best Supporting Actor, Drama Series

Evan Buliung, Departure — Global (Corus Entertainment)

Christopher Plummer, Departure — Global (Corus Entertainment)

Jonny Harris, Murdoch Mysteries — CBC (CBC)

Joel Thomas Hynes, Trickster — CBC (CBC)

Kalani Queypo, Trickster — CBC (CBC)

Best Supporting Actor, Drama Series

Tamara Podemski, Coroner — CBC (CBC)

Sharron Matthews, Frankie Drake Mysteries — CBC (CBC)

Anna Lambe, Trickster — CBC (CBC)

Georgina Lightning, Trickster — CBC (CBC)

Gail Maurice, Trickster — CBC (CBC)

Best Lead Actor, Comedy Series

Paul Sun-Hyung Lee, Kim's Convenience — CBC (CBC)

Jared Keeso, Letterkenny — Crave (Bell Media)

Daniel Levy, Schitt's Creek — CBC (CBC)

Eugene Levy, Schitt's Creek — CBC (CBC)

Best Lead Actress, Comedy Series

Jean Yoon, Kim's Convenience — CBC (CBC)

Annie Murphy, Schitt's Creek — CBC (CBC)

Catherine O'Hara, Schitt's Creek — CBC (CBC)

Dani Kind, Workin' Moms — CBC (CBC)

Catherine Reitman, Workin' Moms — CBC (CBC)

Best Supporting Actor, Comedy Series

Andrew Phung, Kim's Convenience — CBC (CBC)

Chris Elliott, Schitt's Creek — CBC (CBC)

Noah Reid, Schitt's Creek — CBC (CBC)

Ryan Belleville, Workin' Moms — CBC (CBC)

Peter Keleghan, Workin' Moms — CBC (CBC)

Best Supporting Actress, Comedy Series

Emily Hampshire, Schitt's Creek — CBC (CBC)

Jennifer Robertson, Schitt's Creek — CBC (CBC)

Karen Robinson, Schitt's Creek — CBC (CBC)

Sarah McVie, Workin' Moms — CBC (CBC)

Juno Rinaldi, Workin' Moms — CBC (CBC)

Best TV Movie

Christmas Jars — Citytv (Rogers Media)

Glass Houses — Crave (Bell Media)

No Good Deed — Crave (Bell Media)

The Sanctuary — Hollywood Suite Inc. Canada

Best Reality Show/Competition Program or Series

Battle of the Blades — CBC (CBC)

Canada's Drag Race — Crave (Bell Media)

Dragons' Den — CBC (CBC)

The Great Canadian Baking Show — CBC (CBC)

Wall of Chefs — Food Network Canada (Corus Entertainment)

Best Lifestyle Program or Series

Carnival Eats — Food Network Canada (Corus Entertainment)

Mary's Kitchen Crush — CTV (Bell Media)

Property Brothers: Forever Home — HGTV (Corus Entertainment)

Restaurants on the Edge — Cottage Life (Blue Ant Media)

Scott's Vacation House Rules — HGTV (Corus Entertainment)

Best National Newscast

APTN National News (APTN)

CBC News: The National (CBC)

CTV: National News With Lisa LaFlamme (Bell Media)

Global National (Corus Entertainment)

Best National Reporter

Christine Birak, CBC News: The National

Chris Brown, CBC News: The National

Avis Favaro, CTV: National News With Lisa LaFlamme

Jeff Semple, Global National

Best News Anchor, National

Melissa Ridgen, Dennis Ward, APTN National News

Andrew Chang, Adrienne Arsenault, Ian Hanomansing, CBC News: The National

Lisa LaFlamme, CTV: National News with Lisa LaFlamme

Dawna Friesen, Global National

Best Web Program or Series, Fiction

The Amazing Gayl Pile: Last Resort — (LaRue Entertainment)

Bit Playas — (LaRue Entertainment)
Decoys — (Counterfeit Pictures)

Hey Lady! — (TJ Content Ltd)

NarcoLeap — (KGP Films)