Sufjan Stevens Announces 'Carrie & Lowell' LP

BY Josiah HughesPublished Jan 12, 2015

Quirky pop composer Sufjan Stevens has kept plenty busy over the years, soundtracking a film called Round-Up, collaborating with the band Sisyphus, releasing more Christmas music and offering many other projects. However, it's been five years since he released his last proper album with The Age of Adz. That will change, with a new album due this spring.

Called Carrie & Lowell, the album is named for Stevens' mom and stepdad. The release marks his ninth studio album, and a press release says it sees the artist revisit his "folk roots."

The write-up adds that the album's themes are "life and death, love and loss, and the artist's struggle to make sense of the beauty and ugliness of love."

In addition to Stevens, the record features contributions from Casey Foubert, Laura Veirs, Nedelle Torrisi, Sean Carey, Ben Lester and Thomas Bartlett.

The tracklisting for Carrie & Lowell is available below, along with a brief trailer for the album. The record itself will arrive on March 31 via Asthmatic Kitty.

Carrie & Lowell:

1. Death With Dignity
2. Should Have Known Better
3. All of Me Wants All of You
4. Drawn to the Blood
5. Fourth of July
6. The Only Thing
7. Carrie & Lowell
8. Eugene
9. John My Beloved
10. No Shade in the Shadow of the Cross
11. Blue Bucket of Gold

Latest Coverage