David Duchovny Ventures into Music with Debut Album

BY Alex HudsonPublished Mar 31, 2015

Mulder has a music career! The X-Files is currently preparing to return for a six-episode mini-series, but actor David Duchovny will first release his debut album this spring. This surprising collection from the 54-year-old actor — which follows his first novel from earlier this year — is called Hell or Highwater and it's due out on May 12 through ThinkSay Music.

From the sound of things, his music doesn't have the same sci-fi aesthetic as The X-Files, since what we've heard so far is fairly straightforward folk rock. This is judging by a few trailer videos (which can be seen at the bottom of this page) and the 90-second preview snippet of the title track on iTunes.

"Making this record is a dream come true, but I never had this dream — it's still a shock when I think about how all this music happened," said Duchovny in a statement. "What I do know is that I feel these songs represent the truest expression that I've ever been able to achieve and I look forward to sharing it with everyone."

The album cover is above and the tracklist is below. Closing cut "Positively Madison Ave" is presumably a reference to Bob Dylan's "Positively 4th Street." We've got to ask: are any of these songs in the key of X?

Meanwhile, the new mini-season of The X-Files doesn't have an air date yet, but filming will begin this summer.

Hell or Highwater:

1. Let It Rain
2. 3000
3. Stars
4. Hell or Highwater
5. The Things
6. The Rain Song
7. Unsaid Undone
8. Lately It's Always December
9. Another Year
10. Passenger
11. When the Time Comes
12. Positively Madison Ave

Latest Coverage