Wire to Release Red Barked Tree in January

Wire to Release <i>Red Barked Tree</i> in January
With their 30th anniversary fading into distant memory, post-punk veterans Wire are continuing to crank out new material. Most recently, they released their 11th studio LP, Object 47, back in 2008. Now, the group have announced that they will be ringing in 2011 with a new album, Red Barked Tree, which is due out on January 11 via their own Pink Flag label.

The album features the core trio of Colin Newman, Graham Lewis and Robert Gotobed with no guests. According to a press release, "Red Barked Tree rekindles a lyricism sometimes absent from Wire's previous work and reconnects with the live energy of performance, harnessed and channeled from extensive touring over the past few years."

It continues, "Ranging from the hymnal 'Adapt' to the barking sledgehammer art-punk of 'Two Minutes,' the album encompasses the full palette of style and nuance that has always endeared Wire to pastel-tinged pop aficionados and bleeding-edge avant-rockers alike."

The album cover is above. You can see the tracklist below, and no, that's not a typo - the album is called Red Barked Tree and contains a song called "Red Barked Trees." You can listen to the single "Two Minutes" below.

Red Barked Tree:

1. "Please Take"
2. "Now Was"
3. "Adapt"
4. "Two Minutes"
5. "Clay"
6. "Bad Worn Thing"
7. "Moreover"
8. "A Flat Tent"
9. "Smash"
10. "Down to This"
11. "Red Barked Trees"

Wire, 'Two Minutes' (2010) by Slicing Up Eyeballs