The White Stripes Unearth 1999 Live Album

The White Stripes Unearth 1999 Live Album
Jack White is preparing to open up a new Third Man Records retail location in Detroit's Cass Corridor neighbourhood, and to celebrate his label's expansion, he is releasing a White Stripes live album actually recorded in the Cass Corridor.

Live at the Gold Dollar Vol. III is part of the latest package for subscribers of Third Man's Vault. The Gold Dollar is a venue where the White Stripes played some of their earliest shows, and this particular set was captured on February 6, 1999. It was the garage-blues duo's first performance after recording their self-titled debut album.

This was their second-ever headlining gig and featured the first-ever performances of songs like "Astro," "Suzy Lee" and "Stop Breaking Down." Beyond that, the live record includes a heap of songs from their first album, along with some of their most iconic covers (like Bob Dylan's "One More Cup of Coffee" and Son House's "Grinnin' in Your Face"). There's also an early version of the later single "Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground." These have been newly mixed from the multitrack sources and are pressed on nifty-looking "blood red" coloured vinyl.

As the title of Live at the Gold Dollar Vol. III indicates, the band have released some live shows from the Gold Dollar before. In fact, an announcement indicates that the group intend to release all of their existing recordings from the Gold Dollar down the line.

Scroll past the tracklist below to hear a minute-long extract of "Let's Build a Home."

The Vault package also contains a reproduction of one of the flyers that was used to promote the show, designed by Jack White himself, plus a reproduction of the hand-written setlist. Another flyer for the show, also designed by White, will be included as an iron-on transfer, as will two photo prints showing the White Stripes live at the Gold Dollar.

The package is rounded our by an enamel pin with the new Third Man Record Cass Corridor logo, plus a Dead Weather 7-inch containing the Dodge and Burn cuts "Impossible Winner" and "Mile Markers" on yellow vinyl.

The Vault package can be purchased by signing up for a subscription here before October 31. It costs $60 USD ($78.55) quarterly.

Live at the Gold Dollar Vol. III:

1. Broken Bricks
2. Jimmy the Exploder
3. The Big Three Killed My Baby
4. Stop Breaking Down (Robert Johnson)
5. Suzy Lee
6. Let's Build a Home
7. Sugar Never Tasted So Good
8. Do
9. Little People
10. One More Cup of Coffee (Bob Dylan)
11. Astro
12. Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground
13. Wasting My Time
14. Red Bowling Ball Ruth
15. Cannon/John the Revelator/Grinnin' in Your Face (Son House)
16. Let's Shake Hands