The White Stripes Dig into the Archives for 2005 Live Package

The White Stripes Dig into the Archives for 2005 Live Package
It's been a few years since the White Stripes broke up, but we continue to hear material from the beloved garage duo thanks to the efforts of Third Man Records. Jack White's label just unveiled its latest quarterly package for its Vault subscribers, and it includes a White Stripes live album captured a decade ago, along with other goodies.

The double-LP concert album is called Under Amazonian Lights. It was recorded at the Teatro Amazonas opera in Manaus, Brazil, on June 1, 2005 (less than a week before the release of that year's Get Behind Me Satan). It's pressed on what an announcement calls "blood red vinyl with stark black wisps."

See the tracklist below.

This was during a phase when the White Stripes' minimalism got a little more elaborate, and Jack plays marimba on "The Nurse." The show is described as "deliciously irresponsible," and the Vault package comes with a professionally shot video of the same gig. This DVD includes footage of an unamplified mid-set rendition of "We Are Going to Be Friends," which Jack and Meg performed for the fans standing outside of the venue.

A 44-minute concert film from the night in question can be seen at the bottom of this page.

The package also includes a white 7-inch single containing a solo demo called "Let You Down," which Jack recorded around 2000 and later turned into "The Nurse." The B-side is an unreleased White Stripes instrumental called "Ain't No Sweeter Than Rita Blues," which was an outtake from the Get Behind Me Satan sessions. A short snippet of the instrumental is embedded here.

Lastly, buyers will also get a set of newly designed postcards celebrating the Brazilian tour of 2005, plus an enamel pin and a silk-screened poster. All of this is housed in a "soft touch, telescoping box."

To get the package, fans must sign up for the Vault subscription series, which costs $60 quarterly. It's available here from now until January 31.

Under Amazonian Lights:

1. Blue Orchid
2. Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground
3. Black Math
4. Love Sick (Bob Dylan)
5. My Doorbell
6. Passive Manipulation 
7. Hotel Yorba
8. The Same Boy You've Always Known (electric)
9. The Same Boy You've Always Known (acoustic)
10. Little Ghost
11. When I Hear My Name
12. I Asked for Water (Howlin Wolf)
13. Fell in Love With a Girl
14. The Nurse
15. Little Bird
16. Death Letter (Son House)
17. St. James Infirmary (traditional)
18. Screwdriver
19. Passive Manipulation (reprise) 20. I Just Don't Know What to Do With Myself
21. (I'll Be With You) In Apple Blossom Time (Albert Von Tilzer/Neville Fleeson)
22. I Just Don't Know What to Do With Myself (continued)
23. Seven Nation Army